Count My Blessings

In a split second I am not going to lie. When faced with things at unexpected times I find myself asking “Really God, Why?” But then the answer comes readily. I know; not “Why me?” But “God, what is it you’re trying to teach me?” Because I know there’s something I need to learn from this. It just takes a minute.

I know nothing happens by coincidence or by chance. I began asking him, “How should I handle this circumstance?” There is a reason for this. There’s an opportunity here that I must not miss. I’m given a chance to count my blessings and give praise. Your promise will be fulfilled. Your power will manifest through me. Your purpose will be accomplished in the plans you have prepared for me.

I fell out of the “why me” trap and walked into his “show me the way.” I learned on that day. What it was I needed to do. The very thing God expects me to. Glorify his name. Praise Him in the midst of my storm. Know that nothing or no one will bring me harm. Rejoice even when I can’t see Him in the midst of the trial. He was there all the while. I know His hand is on me. I have faith the size of a mustard seed. I know He will supply all my needs.

“Often, God asks us to make the choice to do his will before we know the specific details of his plan. That’s because part of God’s plan is to develop in us trust of his character and his benevolence.” (Jon Walker, Grace Creates Devotional)

While I may never understand my life when faced with opposition and struggles that weigh me down. I am clearly aware that God has a plan for me. Although some things in life will remain a mystery, I will lay aside every weight and run the race. Regardless of trials I may face. I may not know all the details but I trust Him with everything. In spite of, my choice is to follow Him always.

Psalm 136: 23-26

“23 He remembered us in our weakness. His faithful love endures forever. 24 He saved us from our enemies. His faithful love endures forever. 25 He gives food to every living thing. His faithful love endures forever. 26 Give thanks to the God of heaven. His faithful love endures forever.”

Comments Off on Count My Blessings

Filed under My Thoughts, Uncategorized

Comments are closed.