How Do You Handle Uncertainty?

There was a time in my life where I could not see God in anything or any area of my selfish world. A time when nothing made sense even when I thought I made sense based on decisions I chose to make. A time when I thought I was exempt from life’s challenges because I believed I had everything figured out, especially when there was doubt.

I learned much later in life that without God, my life meant nothing. Without God my life was meaningless. And without God nothing would make sense if I continued to rely solely on myself for answers. Change brought about a revelation to the things I refused to see for many years, which in turn revealed how much I needed God to live as only he knew I could.

Life presents experiences that will reveal things we choose not to be cognizant of but at some point will become conscious of when the broken cycle continuously fails. Oftentimes, it will take a tragic or traumatic event to define a moment in our lives where we have no choice but to submit or give in to the thing that defeats us. Something I can truly identify with because it happened to me.

I learned life brings about change regardless of who we are. As such, some form of suffering will exist regardless of what we see. It is the ultimate reliance on God that we shall find peace, free from suffering and the complexities of this world. Because a silent cry cannot be heard. But a cry from the heart will flow endlessly through the provision of love and support.

I realized we can no longer try to fix or solve every problem in our life based on what we’ve repeatedly tried to do on our own. Nor can we be dependent on someone else’s experience to justify what we fail to do with our own spiritually when faced with obstacles. I understood spirituality is not based on circumstances or human experience, but based in part on one’s individual spiritual experience.

When things are at its worst and there’s nowhere to turn, we have a tendency to go to God. As soon things are not in our favor we become desperate and find ourselves depicting the life of an “Emergency Christian” looking for a “Temporary Fix.” Telling God, “Lord, if you get me out of this, I will” or “If you do this one thing…I promise I will”; making false promises in order to have your way. All the while creating a life filled with void, absent of God.

To vacillate back and forth in your spirituality based on your circumstances is not good.

To continue to wrestle against God is contentious. You can’t run from God. You can’t choose times when it is convenient for you to have a relationship with Him. You cannot have a part-time relationship with a full-time problem because life will catch up with you at some point.

God has a way of letting you know who he is by what does. His WILL is evidence. He will prove to others who he is when life takes a sudden turn. HIS WILL is done. Not yours.

God will move you far away to speak to you in order to show you his Glory. God will put you in a place where he wants to get your undivided attention. He will create a situation to separate you from the things he is tired of; your dependence on someone else’s experience to excuse accountability for your own actions.

A journey is one that consist of human futility but also should be of Christian readiness. At the same time, it will require your willingness to have a personal experience with your walk.

To move in your Christian journey, you will have to have a personal experience with God.

Personal experiences create the ability to walk by faith and not by sight of that which you see in your life.

Personal experiences become the foundation of a life built upon prayer and confidence in God’s ability to do what he KNOWS is best and not what you THINK is best. Your experience with God will change your life for the good, forever.

“A contentious spirit is a sin of unbelief.” The choices you make will determine the life you will have. When you deny God’s existence in your life, nothing can prevent YOU from having a personal walk with God but YOU. When you make choices based on your own knowledge and wisdom and not Gods’, it’s futile. You cannot know God and lack confidence in the work he does. Your life must be a reflection of it.

Affirm to yourself, “I am not an ordinary Christian in your sight God. You are real in my life. I am an extraordinary Christian in your presence no matter what I see. It is by my experiences you’ve shown me. The faithful being you are. You’ve brought me this far.”

God has to be your first start. Build a relationship with Him. Don’t let the enemy win. Don’t make false promises thinking you are the only one that can bring resolve to matters of the heart. God’s love never fails. From his word you shall never depart.

God will translate your lack of sense into a language He understands. He wants to know “What kind of experience you’ve had to know who I am?” “What is it I’ve shown you not in the people you trust, but in who you say I am?” Because when you know who I am, you know what I will do. This will carry you through. And remove a life filled with never knowing what I AM to you.

Pray. Be conscious of the manner in which you pray. No one can pray for what you know you need, for where you hurt, or how you feel. You are the only one who can do this.

If you pray and pray right, God will answer right away. Pray with sincerity. Tell Him, “Lord I want to know for myself. No one else can do it for me. I need your help.”

When you respond in the right way, God will bless your life. OTHERS will see HIS will through your strife. However, when you respond in your own way, YOU will see YOUR will in the things you do. Something you must let go of and live life anew.

Believe God can do all things. Let HIS WILL be done. Remove yourself from the plan. Put it all in God’s hands. Let God order your steps. Trust him and let go because if you don’t this is what your life will show; a life filled with sin in rebellion against him.

We mustn’t strive against the things God sends in his providence. As the Lord instructs, do. It will make life much better for you.

In the face of uncertainty, handle it with care. Know that God is with you and will not let you handle more than what he knows you can bear. Know that God will instruct you on what to do. Through the Word designed specifically for you.

And if all else fails, remember what Jesus told Simon Bar-Jonah when he reminded him of who he was. It will help you to remember too. And when in doubt, know it is God you are to solely rely on because it is only through Jesus Christ you will receive divine direction.

Matthew 16:17 “Jesus answered and said to him, “Blessed are you, Simon Bar-Jonah, for flesh and blood has not revealed this to you, but my Father who is in heaven.”

Comments Off on How Do You Handle Uncertainty?

Filed under My Thoughts, Uncategorized

Comments are closed.