Does Reverence Of God Require Us To Change?

I had a strange premonition the other day where I couldn’t get my mind off  the subject of change and reverence to God. I tried to push it to the back of my mind but something kept prompting me to address it. So today, I chose to briefly take a look at reverence and change as I share how it came about in my life and what I believe God expects us to do with it.

When I was younger, I feared change. I didn’t like the idea of having to transition to new things in my life. I didn’t like having to make new friends or go to a new school or live in a new place or be in new surroundings. I was comfortable and wanted things to remain the same…forever.

But as with anything in life, change is a part of it. In order to transition from one setting to another, one must be willing and open to change their surroundings in order to sustain. It is required. As such, I couldn’t help but make the connection to change as it relates to spiritual growth and determined through spiritual development, reverence to God was also a part of change that was required.

While I had been raised in the church by my Mother and Great-grandmother basically all my life, as a young child I reverenced God. Although at the time I really did not have a clear understanding of what it meant, all I know is I feared him in my heart. My desire was to do what was right to please him.

When I became an adult and began to closely follow God I realized change was required in order to grow and mature. Not that my circumstances may change, but God wanted to change me within my circumstances. This would allow me to become a better person and work to develop the same characteristics as God. Without God serving as the blueprint to shape my life, how could I fully follow the foundation that was set before me?

At a young age I never departed from the love, respect, and awe I have for God. And even at the age I find myself now, the love I have for God is astounding. It is beyond words.

Granted there are times when I struggle with sustaining, the overall goal is to follow God wholeheartedly. To love him with all my heart and with all my soul and with all my mind, with a desire to live in obedience to his commandments.

It took some time to get to where I am now, but no matter the circumstance whenever I find myself reacting or responding to situations or people in an inappropriate manner, my first thought is, “Do you think God would be pleased?” I’d follow with an answer, “No.” And because I know better, this in turn would prompt me to work to change the behavior and the attitude so that I may bring honor and glory to Him. Life had new meaning and purpose for me.

As I grow older I’ve learned to accept change as a part of life. Take the bitter with the sweet, the good with the bad. I’ve also learned that with change comes opportunity; we either live on purpose or live in fear with no purpose. The latter at some point will make life seem meaningless.

I believe in order to be made whole we must first learn to love God in order to love ourselves. Acknowledgment of God’s love is a key component to our future development.

Our life starts not with what we know or how good we are, but with whom we know; God. Our purpose of life should be to revere Him. It’s where we stand in awe of Him.

God is above, not below us. He controls everything in the earth that concerns us. To reverence Him is to show respect. It’s all in his hands. We are to follow his commands. Recognize, and honor his divine authority. God is all-powerful. He has dominion over everything.

Not only will we have respect for him but will respect others too. Not because of the positions they hold or what they do; but because who they are in Christ to you; your sisters and brothers. Your love of God will be shared with one another.

We are at his disposal. Therefore we must please him in everything we do. We must be able to acknowledge him in all our ways. And follow his laws the rest of our days.

Fear, on the other hand, is our motivation to surrender to God. It is where He resides in our hearts. Evidenced in promises he made and what he’s done. His love never fades. The utmost respect of his authority will be held. Without trust, obedience cannot prevail.

We all have a divine purpose. But it is impossible to fulfill your purpose without God. When you put him first, change will come. Not by what you’ve done but who you will become. Above all, let your life begin with Him. God is your purpose. Build your life around him. Gain knowledge and wisdom as you seek to know Him.

Reverence builds purpose in our relationship with God. It is the sum total of who we are. It helps us grow in maturity. It increases our relationship, our faith, and our belief.

Change is inevitable. We can’t run from it. We must learn to embrace it. Change the way you think, act, and speak. Look for God to guide you in every step you take. He will order your steps to bring you to the place. He set before you to run the race.

Let God begin a work in you. Follow God and he will do the rest for you. Reverence Him in all you do.

Psalm 89:7 God is greatly to be feared in the assembly of the saints, And to be held in reverence by all those around Him.

Psalm 111:10 The fear of the Lord is the beginning of wisdom; A good understanding have all those who do His commandments. His praise endures forever.

Comments Off on Does Reverence Of God Require Us To Change?

Filed under My Thoughts, Uncategorized

Comments are closed.