Be An Example

We see many examples throughout Scripture of the Bible where God repeats himself over and over. He may say a lot of things in certain places. And he may say little things in other places. But what I find interesting is how He presents things in certain sets of numbers; particularly my inquisitiveness in the number three.

Do you ever notice how the Bible illustrates several places where God denotes things in “threes?” Better yet, how he says things over and over with different events in different parts of different people lives? It’s as though there’s something he’s trying to say even though the characters in Scripture change. Yet His Word doesn’t. It stays the same. It is complete.

Can’t help but wonder, is there a reason why God does this? Is there something we need to pay attention to? Yes. And Yes.

There are many examples I can reference but because there are too many to narrow down to list, if we were to take a look at small sample, what do you think it will tell us?

What significance do you think it will bear? Do you think the little things will outweigh the bigger things we see there?

For example:

And God said, “Let there be light,” and there was light. (Genesis 1:3)

  • On the third day the earth was created (Gen 1:13)
  • During the next three days, God filled the earth with living beings (Gen 1:2)
  • On the third day Jesus rose again (1Cor 15:4)

The word of the Lord came to Isaiah, “Go back and tell Hezekiah, the leader of my people, ‘This is what the Lord, the God of your father David says: I have heard your prayer and seen your tears, I will heal you.

  •  ‘On the third day from now you will go up to the temple of the Lord. I will add fifteen years to your life. And I will deliver you from this city from the hands of the king of Assyria…’ ” (2Kings 20:5-6)

And then there’s the knowledge of who God is. We know God is one person manifested as three divine persons. He is the Triune God. He is “the Father, the Son, and the Holy Spirit.” Jesus’ words affirm it in Matthew 28:19.

  • Jesus said, “Therefore go and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit…” (Matthew 28:19).

This is the spoken word of God.  And when God repeats himself, we are to TAKE NOTICE because it is IMPORTANT.

Now does it mean a lot of what God says, we are to internalize to change the behavior or does it mean a little of what He says, we must adhere to? In my opinion we are to do both because both are important in order to bring glory to God.

This is what I find to be true. I believe all things in the Bible, whether big or small, is significant. However, as it relates to the number three, this is my interpretation. Three symbolizes the will of God. The number three is God’s completion. When God repeats himself, there’s something he wants us to get. When God notes something in three, it is his final say. It’s done.

As such, when we speak of God, I find sometimes when sharing the Gospel, people tend to say a whole lot about God without saying enough about Him. It can be meaningless if we fail to edify the Body of Christ.

And then there are times when some say very little, but the meaning in their message can say a whole lot when it transforms lives.

Then does this mean we should say a lot or should we say a little? Well, in my opinion, we can do both as long it serves the right purpose; to lead others to Christ.

I am a very detailed person. When I speak it’s like recalling times when writing term papers in college that began with a thesis statement, the body, and drawing a conclusion. Mildly put, “I’m longwinded.” And if you notice, it is in threes.

Many times I have a lot to say but need to start from the beginning before getting to the point of the matter. Much like what I do here.

And then there are times when I have very little to say but the message is of great significance especially when I share the Good News about Jesus Christ in the hopes of leading someone to a life with him.

I’ve learned many times we don’t need to say a lot to profess our knowledge of God or to share a word about his truth. Oftentimes I feel as though it can be done in three simple words, “God loves you. God is love.”

We can demonstrate God’s attributes in three words, “God is omnipresent. God is omnipotent. God is omniscient. God is Sovereign.”

And when we simply want to assure someone of God’s love, his provision, his protection, and who he is, we can tell them in four words, “God cares for you. God will bless you. God is Jehovah Jireh. He is your provider. God is Jehovah Nissi. He is your banner. God is El Shaddai. He is God Almighty.”

We can use five words as the undisputed truth of who is God. I believe this sends the greatest message. God is “I AM that I AM.”

Needless to say, I can go on and on about numbers but what I want you to know, whether we speak a little or we speak a lot about God, when we share the message about Him, we are to make it clear. It must be the truth.

It doesn’t matter how much we say. But what will matter is what we say. Because on any given day, his message can mean something entirely different depending where your life is at that moment on that day. So whatever he says is for a reason. We can’t minimize why he says what he do. We must adhere to the lesson. The lesson he’s trying to send to you.

Remember there are countless times when Jesus says, “Verily, Verily” or “I tell you the truth” in the Bible. They were small words that held great significance. He spoke truth. His words were fact.

Much like us, when we speak about God, tell the truth. Saying a little can mean a lot. And saying a lot can sometimes mean a little. It’s all in how you use your words to tell the story.

As you share your message with the world, don’t worry about big or small. But rather concentrate on how you can honor God with your thoughts. Be an example. Have the mind of Christ. Be like-minded and be the light as you lead others to Christ.

When you produce what it is you want to say, make this your declaration that day and every day:

“Let the words of my mouth and the meditation of my heart Be acceptable in Your sight, O Lord, my strength and my Redeemer.” Psalm 19:14

Be blessed! -JD

Comments Off on Be An Example

Filed under My Thoughts, Poem, Uncategorized

Comments are closed.