Why Do We Change?

It amazes me how God will send confirmation of thoughts that dwell in your heart. As he sends the most unsuspecting people, in unsuspecting places, in the most unusual circumstances to affirm what it is you desire to say.

I am a firm believer that within every circumstance, God presents an opportunity for us to make a difference. It is not by chance or coincidence. It is by his Divine Providence.

Today it was raining out but there was something I needed to do in order to meet a deadline that would affect my future forever. As I walked to the copy and print store to make a copy and mail a letter that held my future destiny, I met an unusual woman. Our conversation started off about the rain and she said where she comes from, rain was a common occurrence. I said, “Me too.” But she welcomed it today. I said, “Me too.”

I dared not ask where she was from but as soon as the words left her lips I had a small inkling she was from the same parts I was. And just as it turned out, she was.

Although we had had enough of the rain where we hailed from, it was good to see it falling today. She thanked God. And I did too. Ironic, I thought, “This woman seems to know the same God I do.” Just by her mannerism and disposition shown by those small words she chose to use. Here’s a woman who is in a great position. Just by the words she mentioned. “Thank God.”

I immediately felt comfortable with her as we talked about how people choose to conform for others as a means to fit in. They think its okay to live by standards of society rather than choose to live by God’s standards.

The conversation led to the subject of people who hold the belief that it is okay to change for a man, a woman, or even in a relationship to better themselves for the sake of others. While I didn’t see a problem with this, I couldn’t help but say, these thoughts I am compelled to express in this way. And this is what I had to say:

So often I hear people say, “As many relationships we find ourselves in, even though others turned out bad, there will be one where someone will meet a person who will cause them to change.” For the better, which will bring success in the relationship they believe was destined to be. But do you really think that’s all we should believe?

People get confused when they see others in relationships and it appears all is well that ended well. But don’t get it twisted. You don’t know what goes on behind closed doors and while change is good. You don’t know if their life really is that good. Or because of who they think is just that good.

Now don’t get me wrong, change is a beautiful thing. Especially when it brings growth absolving things that weren’t beautiful about you. But it is important to consider the reasons why you change you.

Do you ever stop to think when a person changes, who or what is it they decide to change for? Is it for them or is it for God? If it’s for them, it will seem as though they are in better place. Based on what is seen on the surface. But as the woman said it often will mean it’s only temporary. And I agree because if you’re only changing for yourself or that person, you’re not free. But if change is preceded by your desire to grow in God, and then change for the good, then you would… be free. You will experience the effects of change permanently.

God will show himself strong on your behalf. Not by what people will do because of you or what you do because of them. But because of what he will do for you in spite of them. He will strengthen your resolve, if your heart is fully committed to God. “For the eyes of the LORD range throughout the earth to strengthen those whose hearts are fully committed to him.” 2 Chronicles 16:9

We can’t change people. We can’t expect people to change for us. But with prayer, God’s Will will change for us. When we make the decision to change, it must involve God as the priority. And you will know this as things fall into place for the betterment of your well-being.

Not based on what you are seeing within that relationship with that person. But in reflection of what you will see within you in comparison. To who you were before and who you are now when God change you. You will see a better you. The relationship you’re in will benefit too. However, the relationship must begin with God to begin anew.

I commend those who evolve and change for the better. I wish nothing but success in the lives of others. But I believe and will always say, in order to be different, you have to be open to doing things differently. In order to grow, you have to be willing to change a part of you so it is God you will see. In every circumstance or situation you face. Even in the people whose lives you are placed.

As for me, I may not be the person I’m supposed to be, but thank God I’m not the person I used to be. I’m free. Whatever relationship I may find myself in, God will be first as I seek to change.

I will sing praise every day. With these words I made up Wednesday, “You don’t know my story. You can see my glory. God has favored me. I can tell by all that I’ve been through, I’m free. Free from pain, worry, heartbreak, and misery. Thank you Lord, I’m free. No more chains are binding me. My mind, my soul, and my body are free. I am. I will. I stand. I believe.”

And you can be free too. Just let God, and not people, be the reason why you change you.

Be blessed! -JD

Romans 12:2 “And do not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind, that you may prove what is that good and acceptable and perfect will of God.”

Comments Off on Why Do We Change?

Filed under My Thoughts, Poem, Uncategorized

Comments are closed.