Death And Life Are In The Power of The Tongue

I stumbled upon this article the other day on my tablet and out of my curiosity because of the title that peaked my interest; I decided I would read it.

http://thegrio.com/2013/03/11/fox-news-guest-receives-rape-death-threats-following-gun-segment/

17.-Encourage-sunsetWhile reading, I couldn’t help but feel the depth of my soul being torn into pieces as I tried my best not to let tears run from my eyes, not criticize, nor place judgment on ones mentioned in the article that were making such brutal statements as well as threats to a woman who clearly was a victim not by her choice.

It took great effort on my part to keep my mouth shut and think before I comment or make any statements so as not to offend anyone or come out of character.

Not to mention after watching the video on guns and rape, I got an immediate headache but couldn’t say a thing because it was another issue I didn’t have time to address.

Proverbs 18:21 tells us “Death and life are in the power of the tongue, And those who love it will eat its fruit.”And if we are not careful, words can be a death sentence to some unsuspecting soul who undoubtedly did not ask for the humiliation, disrespect, or harsh judgment at their expense.

For those that know me know I am against gun violence and am a strong opponent of various gun control/gun violence laws. And whenever I read or hear anything that addresses the issue of guns, I feel compelled to speak out.

While I have expressed my views in the past, I don’t have time to reiterate my views on the subject matter in creation of this post.

What I will say though is, I must agree with the young lady in this video segment that “Giving every woman a gun is not rape prevention.” I believe guns will not prevent rape or violence. They will do the opposite and increase more violence. And I will leave it at that.

There are a million things I can say right now, but the only thing I wish to state here is this:

There are people in this world that can be so cruel without thinking about the impact their words have on others and oftentimes, don’t even care what it does to the person’s self-esteem, let alone their character. Then I ask, “How?” “How can someone be of this nature and not have an ounce of empathy or respect for people who are victims at no fault of their own?” But find it okay to tear them down instead of build them up? I don’t understand. Am I missing something?

I had to take a moment to express my thought about people who I find, either, do not have a heart or are just mean-spirited without a clue. Who most likely need help or are hiding some deep-rooted issue they are oblivious to. It is so sad.

It saddens me when I hear people speak about their experiences of abuse of any kind or victims of rape who survived and are now courageous enough to speak about how it literally destroyed and/or changed their lives. All while trying to pick up the pieces to find some normalcy as a result of the traumatic event. As such, I commend them because I believe they are victors, not victims of their circumstances. They overcame. They survived to tell about it.

I also get perturbed when I hear people making unwise statements like this, “They deserved it.” “They were asking for it.” “It was her fault.” Again, I ask, “Really?” Why would any person believe it is okay to say things like this without questioning their own integrity?

My thought: We all at some point will encounter some form of abuse, be it physically, mentally, verbally, even spiritually. And while many of us may never know what its like to be the victim of rape, keep in mind that it can happen to anyone. But let’s be clear…. it is never the victim’s fault.

We must be careful with our words and what we choose to say to people or about others. We all have a cross to bear and should never minimize what others are going through or what they have to deal with. We don’t know what burdens they bear or how they are managing to get through the unpleasant situation.

We all are a victim to something in this life and we all will have a cross to bear. But what we must realize is, just as it can happen to them, there may come a time when it can happen to someone you may know or love. Don’t be so quick to judge.

Please be careful with your words. Let your actions be an indication of not who you are but who you desire to be in the lives of others; a blessing and not a curse. Don’t tear down, but build up. Don’t bring hurt or harm, but protect.

Jesus did. Why can’t you?

Death and life are in the power of the tongue. Choose your words wisely.

Be blessed! –JD

Ephesians 4:29 “Let no corrupt word proceed out of your mouth, but what is good for necessary edification, that it may impart grace to the hearers.”

Comments Off on Death And Life Are In The Power of The Tongue

Filed under My Thoughts, Uncategorized

Comments are closed.