Don’t Compromise Your Faith

sunset1.jpgDespite dismal situations or no matter the circumstances, we should praise God in advance. This, for some, can be easier said than done. And for others with faith, it can easily be done.

Too often we believe it is okay to compromise our faith, our belief system, and moral values for the sake of getting what we think we deserve in life. We are convinced it is easier to forsake God and refute what he has promised and clearly shown us in order to justify why success or happiness should come to us by our own doing.

However, regardless what answers may come to questions that we may never understand reasoning. We should never compromise our faith for the sake of man or worldly possessions or anything that would cause us to concede opposite our belief. Nor should we let anything prevent us from believing God is our source of provision and is in control.

We may get discouraged, distraught or dismayed. But we should never be afraid. Of what the enemy thinks he can do. It is never about me or you; even when we can’t see. It’s about God who will get the glory.

Recently after receiving some unsettling news I found myself wrestling with the very idea of why people do what they do . The thought came upon me about how we as Christians are not exempt from suffering. And while the circumstance may be painful, we should look at it as a blessing.

I am sure many of us may not want to experience discomfort, but it may be best for us because God may be working through us. God may be preparing us for something greater.

My response to the news had me bewildered, in shock, yet calm as I asked myself, “What happened?” In the face of opposition, truth had been replaced with lies and an attack of credibility. At first I was like, “It’s alright. It’s not over until you, God, say it’s over. I won’t become consumed or frustrated by it. It’s already alright.” I was convinced this was just a test of my faith.

Later that evening, something overcame me as I became angry. I broke down in fear and became discouraged. I lost sight of God and what I knew to be true; his Word. I questioned him like Job because it didn’t look like what I wanted or expected even though I knew better than to debate with Him when he says something is so. I knew better. I also knew I was to humbly submit to what he revealed as truth and leave the rest up to him.

Knowing this was not my usual behavior, I called out to God because I felt the enemy was coming at me hard pulling out all the stops to annihilate me. I said to him, “You know I am devoted to God. You cannot steal my joy! There’s a battle raging around me. You’re filled with rage, coming to destroy me. I’m in a spiritual battle I don’t want to be in. But this battle is not mines, it’s the Lord’s. And he will win.”

As the night went on, after talking with my mother who prayed for me, I tried to sleep. I wrestled with the notion that even as a Christian I’m not exempt from the attacks of the enemy. I remembered the Bible noting this very thing the other day as it said, “Faith in Christ brings great blessings but often great suffering too. God calls us to commitment, not to comfort. He promises to be with us through suffering and hardship, not to spare us from them.” This would later bring me rest.

The next day this stuck in mind, “We live in a fallen world filled with people who are convinced they are the master of our fate. Yet God has another plan that he declares is to prosper us and not harm us in spite of the enemy’s hate. No matter what man will do in his attempt to turn us away from him. God will be with us until the end. He will win.

To attack one’s credibility is to spread lies and untruth. Who are we to attack the credibility of God’s truth? We mustn’t do as evildoers do. “For we wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this world, against spiritual wickedness in heavenly places” (Ephesians 6:12). The battle is not ours. It’s the Lord’s. Take up the whole armor of God!

God doesn’t make mistakes. He is not a man, that he should lie, nor the son of man that he should change his mind. Does he speak and then not act? Does he promise and not fulfill (Numbers 23:19)? His reputation is flawless.  His word can be trusted. God is just, and he will make things right. He will punish the wicked and reward the faithful in darkness and light.

“Faith in God does not make our troubles disappear; it makes trouble appear less frightening because it puts them in the right perspective.”  Acts 5: 15-17

Things may not turn out as we expect. Count it all joy. It is a blessing. The season isn’t over; it just begun. God’s setting the stage for what’s to come.

People may lie and persecute you. Remember they did the same thing to Jesus who died on the cross for you. But he didn’t lose faith. He didn’t compromise his faith in God. We are subject to the same action and laws. Follow his example and you will go far.

Don’t settle for something less than what you believe. Do not compromise your faith for the sake of others to receive. What you think you deserve or are rightfully due. Keep the faith. God will reward you.

Be blessed! -JD

Psalm 119: 1-4 “Joyful are people of integrity, who follow the instructions of the Lord. 2 Joyful are those who obey his laws and search for him with all their hearts. 3They do not compromise with evil, and they walk only in his paths. 4 You have charged us to keep your commandments carefully.”

1 Comment

Filed under My Thoughts, Poem, Uncategorized

One response to “Don’t Compromise Your Faith