Will You Cry About It or Pray About It?

1 Peter 1 Verses 6-7 #1Have you ever thought, why is it so easy to witness to others about Christ with the goal to uplift, encourage and inspire but feel, when you find yourself in a sea of brokenness, you are the hardest person to receive the same inspiration or encouragement because you feel God is not answering your prayers? Do you ever wonder why that is? What do you do? I ask myself the same questions I am asking you.

Life brings about change. And sometimes when we find ourselves in a situation that we either have no control over or are uncomfortable in because it is necessary based on our circumstance, we either have the choice to cry about it or pray about it. Which one will you choose?

No matter what situation we encounter in life, sometimes God’s answer is “No, not yet.” Or it is “Delayed but never denied.” Yet it is never “No or never.”

God has a reason for our trials and tribulations. We are not immune to it. There is a divine purpose. Yet we are to be held to a standard to obey and be patient while we wait in it.

When I would wait, I remember distinctly when God would present answers to my prayers and I would choose to ignore his leading, taking it upon myself to follow my own lead. God would always be there as this would happen time and time again. But out of my stubbornness and pride, I would choose not to listen and would turn my back on him. And then would have the audacity to question his plan and require more proof that it was in fact his answer before I would accept it.

Until one day I had no other choice but to go back to him after I would suffer consequences that were beyond belief all while taking responsibility for my actions. As I would lift my eyes to hills from whence cometh my help and see. God come one final time and say to me, “My dear child. I am a God of many chances and my desire is to save you. I only want what’s best for you. I love you.”

“Although I will never turn my back on you, it is ultimately up to you to seize the opportunity I present that will help you grow more in the image of my Son and believe that it will work for the greater good not because of what you’ve done. But because of whom you will become in the image of my Son.”

In that moment, when God would send confirmation of his will, as I am face down looking at the bottom of the well, where I would find myself lost and broken, I would ask God to forgive me. With an understanding that this specific opportunity may never come again and it would be in my best interest to listen and take heed to his instruction.

Sometimes God will allow suffering in trials and tribulations so that we may rejoice because it is where we will learn an important lesson.

I’ve said this before and I will say it again, “Suffering produces perseverance; perseverance produces character; and character produces hope.” All which in the end will prove our faith in God. Take note. It is where God will demonstrate his love for us as we declare, “I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me” (Philippians 4:13). He will never give us more than we can bear.

When God speaks we must have discernment to recognize his voice and not ours, and submit every area of our lives to his will. Yes, God is a god of many chances. But if we miss the chance to seize the opportunity when he reveals it, we ultimately will miss the blessing.

Therefore, when you find yourself at a crossroad in the midst of inspiring and encouraging others, let it serve as your inspiration and encouragement too.

While the choice to cry about it may seem easier to do, and in some cases, will be okay to do because we only want to release the pain that prevents us from following through. The best thing is to pray about it and listen for the voice of God to reveal the right answer in spite of it…the circumstance.

God will never allow you to be tested beyond what you can bear. No trial or tribulation will precede you that he will not give you the strength to endure. For, “No temptation has overtaken you except what is common to mankind. And God is faithful; he will not let you be tempted beyond what you can bear. But when you are tempted, he will also provide a way out so that you can endure it” (1 Corinthians 10:13).

As for me, in prayer and supplication with thanksgiving I will make my requests known to God. I serve a mighty God! Devil, you’ve been served notice! You have no authority. I command you to return to the place from which you came and leave me be.

In the midst of my trials I will wait. No matter how long it takes.

I may shed some tears. I may cry about it. But I won’t ever stop going to God about it. I will pray without ceasing. I will run the race. No matter the difficulty, testing or trials I may face. God will send the answer. God gets all the glory. I thank him for opening doors for me. With God on my side, I will have victory.

Will you cry about it or pray about it? Which one will you choose?

I say, “Cry your last tear. Pray your way through. God has a greater reward for you. It will work for the greater good that it may fulfill. The divine purpose; rest assured of our faith that it is real. God’s Divine Providence will produce results to accomplish his will. Pray while you wait. Let the test become your testimony and become a testament of your faith.”

Be blessed! -JD

1 Peter 1:6-7 “In all this you greatly rejoice, though now for a little while you may have had to suffer grief in all kinds of trials, 7 These have come so that the proven genuineness of your faith – of greater worth than gold, which perishes even though refined by fire – may result in praise, glory and honor when Jesus Christ is revealed.”

2 Comments

Filed under My Thoughts, Poem, Uncategorized

2 responses to “Will You Cry About It or Pray About It?

  1. I pray about it. But you also have to rely on your “instruction manual” to put God’s Will into action!

    Like

    • Absolutely. We must rely on God’s Word to put into action what he instructs. We are not to be only hearers of the word but doers. Thank you! Blessings 🙂

      Like