Say A Prayer

When I heard news of the death of Roger Ebert I couldn’t help but share a thought and my prayers with the world as I lay bewildered, surprised. I began to think how soon our lives can be taken as quickly as we are given life.

Roger Ebert was a favorite of mine. And my heart skipped a beat when I heard he was gone in just that short time. He had just announced yesterday he was taking a “leave of presence” after learning his cancer had returned. And today his presence is gone and he will never return.

We never know when our time will come. Death waits for no one. As quickly as we breathe, it can be our last breath. Even when we think God is not through with us yet. When he says it’s our time. It’s time. When he says it’s done. His Will will be done.

It’s no longer “here today, gone tomorrow.” It’s “here today, gone today.” We must be ready when the time comes when we are taken away. Prepare every day. Live as God desires, the way he has designed for you to live. Seek him, find him and know him before he takes the life he has given. Be ready.

For we must all appear before the judgment seat of Christ; that everyone may be recompensed for the things done in his body, according to what he has done, whether it be good or bad” (2 Corinthians 5:10).

Say a prayer.

The world lost a legendary figure today. Please keep the family in your thoughts and prayers and pray.  I will lift up the family and friends of Roger Ebert as I pray.

“Father, I thank you for your Sovereignty. You are full of grace and mercy. God, guard and heal the hearts of the family. Give them strength and the peace that surpasses all understanding. Comfort them in their time of sorrow in the loss of their loved one. Watch over them. Keep them safe in your arms. In Jesus’ name I pray. Amen.”

Be blessed! -JD

John 14: 1-3 “Let not your heart be troubled, you believe in God, believe also in Me. 2 In My Father’s house are many mansions; if it were not so, I would have told you. I go to prepare a place for you. 3 And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come again and receive you to Myself; that where I am, there you may be also. 4 And where I go you know, and the way you know.”

4 Comments

Filed under My Thoughts, Poem, Uncategorized

4 responses to “Say A Prayer

  1. Nice blog! I’m working my way through 2 Corinthians right now, one chapter a day. I just read Chapter 5 a few hours ago!

    Like