Be Thankful For The Little Things

Beckwith James Carroll Lost in Thought

Beckwith James Carroll Lost in Thought (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Upon hearing the news late yesterday of a loved one who went on to glory, I took it real hard. I cried and couldn’t sleep. I was lost in thought thinking how could this be? Wondering repeatedly, how could this have happened so suddenly?

We were very close. And oddly all I could think of was how we met. And learned we were closer than we expected. We met at a family home going, and she asked “What are you doing here?” I asked her the same question never once thinking we would be relatives.

Turns out she was a cousin on my father’s side of the family. And from that day on we remained in close contact. I became a part of her family. Through time, we became closer through countless encounters. But I didn’t have any idea I would grow to love this person as much as I did who was once a stranger. Stranger was the fact we worked at the same place and when I learned she was my supervisor, the look on my face… was “Priceless.”

She would give me rides to work to keep from being repeatedly late (ok…so I did have a tiny bit of an attendance problem :-)). But she kept me on my toes. She tried to protect me and my job even when I lacked wisdom to know better. It was as though I found a big sister. An angel God sent to me. And from that time on we remained true friends and cousins, indeed.

At first it was hard to cry when I received the call. But later I was drenched in tears as I began to recall all the wonderful moments we had in our life. So thankful to God I had the chance to see her during my visit home last year. It was blessing. We took pictures that I can still remember her as though nothing changed and she was still here. I had just talked about her the day before as I laughed, recollecting antics I would pull on her. Never once thinking she would be gone in just that short time. My, how we never know when it will be our time.

I woke this morning, tears still in my eyes. I will miss her tremendously but I am glad God placed her in my life. I had planned to see her when I travel home in a few days, which accounted for the reason I didn’t call a few weeks ago and wished her a happy birthday.

Although I did tell her where I knew she would see. I still felt sad because it didn’t come directly by telephone from me. However, I’m so grateful our paths crossed unexpectedly. Who would’ve thought a home going service would be a place for chance encounters. God knew…and I’m so glad I found her.

I’m grateful for the time we spent and moments we shared during her time here. I may be sad and my heart may be full, but it is to be expected, when you lose someone close and dear to you unexpectedly.

Understandably, it’s okay to feel distraught as tears well in your eyes. The beautiful blessing is when you can come to terms with it and accept it as you realize. They may be gone but are in a better place. Be thankful they are no longer in pain bearing heavy burdens in this place.

They are no longer suffering or will ever have to suffer again. The weight of the world have been lifted off their shoulders and they are no longer in pain. They no longer have to deal with the complexities or hardships of the world, but are in a better place with not a care or worry in the world.

It feels strange and while I am lost in thought from the events of yesterday. This is where I am today. It may be hard to take her passing away but I thank God, because my heart tells me she is in a better place. Although I may never see her face again, in my heart the love I have for her will remain the same…forever. I won’t say goodbye. I pray your soul rest in eternal peace until we meet again when it’s my time.

Time waits for no one. Yet I say, “Be grateful for the life you’ve been given. Thank God for what he allowed you to do with what you had while in it.” Be thankful for life lessons that were not happenstance encounters. It was all for a reason. Appreciate the blessings that abounded.

The time will come when life will come to an end for each one of us. Live life to the fullest until the time comes.  Be prepared for when it does. Don’t hold any regrets for what you may not have done. Or the life you’ve lived. Rejoice knowing you did your best to live as God desired you live. We don’t know the day or hour when our time will come. Appreciate the time God allowed you to stay. Cherish every moment of the day.

Give me my flowers while I’m here. Because when I’m gone I will no longer be able to smell or feel them. With every encounter, do your best to be loving and kind. Treasure still moments that travel through space and time. Cherish every memory of time spent with others. Remember them along the road you’ve traveled in the journey and how you blessed one another. Encourage and love all your sisters and brothers. Tell someone you love them today. Share a smile. It may change a life. And will go a long ways.

Be thankful for the little things.

Be blessed! -JD

2 Corinthians 4:16-18 “16 Therefore we do not lose heart. Though outwardly we are wasting away, yet inwardly we are being renewed day by day. 17 For our light and momentary troubles are achieving for us an eternal glory that far outweighs them all. 18 So we fix our eyes not on what is seen, but on what is unseen, since what is seen is temporary, but what is unseen is eternal.”

Comments Off on Be Thankful For The Little Things

Filed under My Thoughts, Personal, Poem, Uncategorized

Comments are closed.