What Does It Mean To Be A Mother?

My mom asked me the other day, “What does it mean to be a mother?” I didn’t have a word to say. I couldn’t answer.

My response was “Dead silence on the other end of the telephone.” I couldn’t think of an answer because I was in a zone. I was tired and sleepy but after I hung up. I started thinking and here is what I came up with as an afterthought. But before I enlighten you, I must say this to you. The words I share below is what I’m reminded of what I learned from my mother. “What it means to be a mother.”

“Being a mother is “unspeakable” joy. It is a special gift and a blessing from God above. It is being chosen by God. His love is unconditional. It means knowing you are loved. You will fulfill the plan he designed for you. To raise the children he’s gifted to you. His grace and mercy will carry you through. It is God’s favor upon you.

Being a mother means having a humble spirit. Humble yourself and not get weary. For, if you faint not in due season you will reap a reward. It’s all God!

It means to show love and patience to your children. And teach them the goodness about God our Father. It is to prepare them for what’s to come. To teach them God’s Word that will help them overcome. It is to grow in grace. No matter the obstacles you may face. God will give you wisdom and knowledge to fulfill your role.  To be the best mother you can be as you travel the “motherhood” road.

Being a mother is to know when you tell your children this, they are assured of this: God is there for you. No matter what you may go through. Carry these words of wisdom with you. “The road may get rough and the going may get tough. And the hills may be hard to climb. But I’ve decided to make Jesus my choice. No greater love will I ever find.

Carry these words in your heart. And from it, never depart. Bless the Lord at all times. Let his praise continuously be in your mouth. His love is true love. He loves you without a doubt.”

After reflecting on this, I couldn’t help but think of my mother and the life she blessed me with. As I am led to say this:

Being a mother can mean many things. But the one thing that came to mind, where I didn’t think twice, one certain quality that exemplifies my mother…“Sacrifice.”

It is to make the sacrifice to raise our children that will go beyond what we do for ourselves. Knowing they are helpless and cannot care for themselves. In time we will wonder how could we ever depart from this being God sent as a blessing? When we are given an opportunity to learn and teach them godly lessons.

We are kind, loving, generous, and unselfish. We are selfless and full of compassion. Our love is unconditional. No strings attached. We are passionate and affectionate. We nurture. We do our best to be a role model. In order that our children may live lives free of worry and drama.

We love our children more than anything in life. No matter the cost or sacrifice. We will go to the ends of the earth and lay down our life for them. We will do the best we can to protect them. We will not allow anyone to bring harm to them. If someone tries to hurt our child, we will stop the enemy in his tracks. We will go out of our way to let them know we got their back. With God, we will make sure their needs are met. And will be confident he will handle it.

We will put our lives on hold so that we are available, no matter the reason. We will embrace the precious life God has given us, no matter the time or season. The love we have for our children will be etched in our hearts. They are one part; of two human beings. They will bring new life and new meaning. We can’t imagine life without them.

Being a mother means we will wear many hats. That will serve a different purpose in many aspects. We will guard our children’s feelings and teach them to be wise. We will guide their footsteps in every decision that may be unwise. We will instill the love of God in their hearts. That they may grow up and never depart. From his Word or what they have been taught.

Yes, we may have imperfections and have made some mistakes. We have and will fail you on occasion. But we want to make sure you don’t make the same mistakes. As we try our best to guide and lead you. So you may avoid what we’ve been through. We may set standards that may provoke you from time to time. With bitterness and anger, even rebellion when you fall out of line. But we do this only because we want what’s best for you. We love you.

It is our responsibility to help shape and mold you into honorable human beings God designed you to be. That you may grow up to have good character, sound moral judgment, respect, and dignity. And you may have strong values and integrity.

What does it mean to be a mother? Simply put. It is love, wisdom, and the sacrifice of our life, that our children may have a better life. God placed us in your life that we may be a blessing to lead and guide you. To the life God has designed for you. That will lead to your destiny. Thank God for the blessing.

Mothers are special. They are a treasured memory. Honor, respect, and cherish the memories. No matter what you’ve been through. God sent them as angels to guide and keep watch over you. Don’t wait for Mother’s Day to honor your mother. Let everyday be a day you tell them that you love them. Mothers are one of God’s greatest gifts. Love them with all your heart. Handle your Mother with tender loving care. Keep her close and near to your heart.

Be blessed! -JD

Proverbs 31:26 “When she speaks, her words are wise, and she gives instructions with kindness.”

Related articles

7 Comments

Filed under My Thoughts, Personal, Poem, Uncategorized

7 responses to “What Does It Mean To Be A Mother?

  1. prayingforoneday

    Beautiful..
    I just found out my Mum was badly ill, and I know all you say here.
    Mothers just love their kids, no inbetween, no maybe just unconditional love.
    I liked this. This week of all weeks, I love this..
    I am sad, but lifted by things like this blog here..

    Shaun xx

    Like

    • I’m thankful my words touched you. It is a blessing. You are such a wise young man. You understand. As mothers, we will endure anything for our children. We only want what’s best for them. We love them unconditionally. You’re right that there’s no middle ground, no in between. We love our children more than life and will go to the ends of the earth no matter the cost. I’m overjoyed and truly thankful the things you read on my blog lift your spirits. I give all glory to God. I know you’re sad, but I pray you find joy. I’ll be praying for you and your Mom. I pray your Mom find healing. Take care!

      Like