Say a Prayer Today

My heart is saddened by news of today’s act of nature and the only thing I ask is that you please pray for the families and victims who have been affected by the devastation.

A tornado struck Oklahoma City today that took the lives of at least 51 people including 20 children and at least seven children who drowned in a pool of water at Plaza Towers Elementary school.

My heart is breaking. I’m weary. But all I can say, although we don’t know what’s going on with the world today, fervent prayers are needed for our nation. It’s becoming a common occurrence just about every week, news of a natural disaster that’s taking the lives of many people.

While we may not understand any of it, please pray for God’s protection to help them get through it. In the wake of devastation, pray for God’s covering for every victim and family who has lost loved ones and homes that have been totally destroyed to pieces.

We need you now Lord more than ever. You’re the only answer. Let our prayers be heard. Send healing, anointing in the midst of the storm.

God, surround the people of Oklahoma City with your favor as a shield.
Send your angels to every home that they may be healed.
May your grace and mercy abound.
In the midst of devastation, please be a fence all around.
I pray for comfort, strength, and peace for those affected by today’s tragedy.
Surround them with everlasting mercy.
God, may they find peace in Jesus’ name. Amen

My thoughts and prayers are with each and every one of you. I’m praying for you. May God bless you.

Say a prayer today.

Be blessed! –JD

Isaiah 41:10 “So do not fear, for I am with you; do not be dismayed, for I am your God. I will strengthen you and help you; I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.”

10 Comments

Filed under My Thoughts, Personal, Uncategorized

10 responses to “Say a Prayer Today

  1. Pingback: Through the Valley of the Shadow of Death, You Lead Me | Loopyloo's

  2. prayingforoneday

    I sat and watched pictures of people carrying kids from the School, unaware if they had passed or not, praying they were ok.
    You guys in America are SURE getting a rough time just now.
    It seems event after event is happening to your country..
    I hope you all get a break.

    x

    Like

    • Thank you so much Shaun for your prayers, kind words, and sincere concern. 🙂

      Like

      • prayingforoneday

        Yeah, joking aside, anyone with kids doesn’t want to see this. I seen a video, heartbreaking, several men digging with their hands till the were bleeding, they got a kid out, the kid was limp and gone, the men cried, shattered, not because they were tired, but because a child had gone.

        These are times, and I am just being honest when I say “Why God?” I know many who follow God, even me who believes in God will ask. What CARNAGE is happening in the USA just now? What is happening to the USA? Event after event after event…
        …Them people need a break.
        Is this Gods will on the American people? A test?

        I say the above from my Heart x

        Like

      • Yes, it was heartbreaking.

        I welcome your honesty. You are not alone. There are times when we all at some point have asked God “Why?” I am one of them. Yet, I also understand that there are some things we may never comprehend but it is during times like these that we are to look to God and his Word for clarity and answers.

        I am not one to debate the issue of why, because there are many ways we may look at it based on our beliefs so I will try and explain it based on my interpretation.

        The way I interpret unexplained natural disasters is that it is a part of the world we live in. Natural disasters have occurred since the beginning of time, and although the magnitude of what we are now seeing is unexplainable and may cause us to question why God allows it, I believe we must not forget we live in a fallen world and nothing is perfect. Yet we are to glorify and trust him no matter what we see. His word tells us these things (natural disasters) must happen. Matthew 24:6-7 is a good point of reference.

        As for why it’s happening to the U.S. I can’t answer that either but what I can say is that it’s not only happening here but in other countries as well. For starters remember the tsunami and earthquakes in Japan and the earthquake that riveted a nation in Haiti? And just recently there were earthquakes in Japan. It’s a part of the earthly environment we exist and cannot be avoided.

        I also believe this too can be a sign of the times where we are experiencing the beginning of birth pains before the coming of Christ. And when we see things such as this, it is God desiring we seek him, establish a relationship with him so that when the time comes when Jesus returns, we are ready.

        Lastly, while there are many tests God will send, he uses them to see how we will react, how much we trust him, and how much he can trust us as well as our faith. Natural disasters can also be a part of it because I believe what it does is it will cause some of us to evaluate our priorities. God does not allow bad things to happen but natural things will happen because it is a part of nature and is to be expected. What we are to do with it when it does is what God looks for from us. I hope this helps 🙂

        Like

      • prayingforoneday

        GOOD COMMENT!!!!!!!!!!!!!! WOW………..
        I am not to big on Religion, but I believe in God. I speak to a VERY HIGH UP Rev/Bishop from the states often over Skype, and he says good things and gets what I mean. I often ask him questions and he answers the best he can.

        I think with terrorism, outwith the USA as well, kids die the WORLD over, thousands a day. I sometimes ask God why. This is a persons will to kill Children. The USA and MY countries War Machine have killed many kids.

        As you say, the world has fallen. To believe in God means to believe in the opposite. That opposite runs our world. But we do see individual acts of kindness, just not on the world stage however.

        Great reply..!

        Like

      • Thanks Shaun for the great comment!!! And for your compliment. I appreciate it very much. FYI…I was thinking I had posted my reply in the wrong place and was just about to check to move it and then your comment popped up on my screen. I thought that was cute. Thanks for replying! Take care! Have a good day or night where you may be. 🙂

        Like

      • prayingforoneday

        Thank you xx
        And you also..

        🙂 x

        Like

  3. Pingback: Oklahoma Tragedy, Let ‘US’ Pray! | pinchofgrace