Which Family Line Do You Belong To?

Today of all days I woke up with feelings of despair. I confess I am a Christian and oftentimes must look outside circumstances, assured God is there.

But I have days when I feel like life doesn’t seem fair. I am not one to hide my feelings. Nor am I one to sugar coat things. Don’t know if that’s a bad or a good thing. Especially if I’m trying to inspire, but there are times when I must be honest with myself because I too need to be inspired. I also feel we must be honest with God because he already knows what will transpire.

Thoughts began to fill my head. Found myself asking these questions, “What do you do when you feel like all is lost? Your body’s spent. Your mind’s confused. All hell breaks loose. You’re lost. Why life as a Christian can be so hard? What is it God expects from you when the perils of life bring suffering you cannot avoid?”

We may even ask, “What does it mean when we hear people say, ‘I gave my life to Christ and relinquished my old ways.’” I am a new creature in Christ. Christ is in me. I’ve changed my life. I know it will come with sacrifice. “It is no longer I who live, but Christ lives in me…” (Galatians 2:20). I am a child of God. It is the power of God that works within me.

What it tells us is that they are steadfast in their obedience and commitment to God, even in the battle of their life. They are repentant. They change and will not desire to do the wrong things but what is right. They are truly sorry for their sins. And will repent to God for past sins.

Yet, when we encounter attacks of the enemy, thoughts begin to occupy our mind. God has already set the blueprint since before the beginning of time. We are in a battle with Satan, who will do everything in his power to distract us from the plan. But our fate is all in God’s hands. Although it will seem like it’s the hardest battle fought. If we are serious about glorifying God, we must be conscious of the fact that it will come at a cost.

The enemy will take every chance he can get to redirect us to a path of destruction. We are to not heed to his instruction. He knows our weaknesses. God knows our strengths. God will give us endurance to overcome in victory, not matter how tired we are or spent.

We may feel like we’ve lost everything because of struggles, trials, and tribulations we’ve faced. Since oftentimes life does not come with specific directions or a DIY book to be manually used to make it through the day. We are to rely on the Word of God for instructions to do things he desires his way. His Word instructs and guides us for such a time as this. Don’t let the enemy take foothold. God’s Word will protect you. The enemy will flee and resist.

Life will cause us to lose many things. We may lose cars, houses, jobs, children, loved ones; simply anything or everything. The list can go on and on. If we are to look at our circumstances we will lose sight, because these things are temporary in the fight for our life. Christ offers the hope of eternal life if we are born into him. With him, we can overcome and can live above sin.

“Christ offers us an opportunity to be born into his spiritual family – the family life that begins with forgiveness and leads to eternal life. If we do nothing, we have death through Adam, but if we come to God by faith, we have life through Christ. Which family line do you now belong to?” (Romans 5:15-19).

We may have trials, tribulations, and struggles. We may suffer. But we mustn’t take our eyes off the prize; God. God knows our struggles. He will not give us more than we can bear. Cast your fears upon him. He will be there. You may be lost. God will heal you. He will never forsake you. The Lord is your strength and will guide you. The Lord is your shepherd, you are his sheep. His Divine Providence will keep you in perfect peace. Every trouble he will guide you. Every obstacle you face. God has an answer and a solution that your fears may be erased.

Yes, being a Christian may not be an easy way of life. Don’t be discouraged. Remember the promises of God and his Son Jesus’ sacrifice. It is not about us but is about our life in God. Eternal life is a gift. Jesus paid a high price to offer it.

No matter what you may be going through, know that God is there for you. Be obedient. Remain steadfast in your commitment as a Christian. We are in a spiritual battle with the enemy who’s trying to thwart God’s mission. Follow God’s calling in your life. Don’t give in to confusion or strife. The battle is not ours, it’s the Lord’s. In your struggle, give it all to God.

Therefore, when I am troubled, I will remember this. It is the God to whom I belong, the God that will stand beside me. It is God I will serve. With God’s help, I am a born-again Christian, navigating my way through life. I’ve accepted Jesus as my Lord and Savior. I am repentant. I come to God by faith. I am a part of God’s family. I am blessed and highly favored.

Which family line do you belong to?

Be blessed! –JD

John 1:12-13 ESV “But to all who did receive him, who believed in his name, he gave the right to become children of God, 13 who were born, not of blood nor of the will of the flesh nor of the will of man, but of God.”

Comments Off on Which Family Line Do You Belong To?

Filed under My Thoughts, Poem, Uncategorized

Comments are closed.