Don’t Let Fear Immobilize Your Faith

Fear is an intrusion of the mind that will detour the journey and rob you of life’s treasures if you let it. God did not give us that spirit. We’re the elect, sealed with God’s Holy Spirit. His seal can never be broken. Those who have true faith are indeed content. Faith is evidence.

Fear is the opposite of faith. Without faith, are half-truths that convince us to believe in untruths. Faith is not based on proof. Its evidence unseen in what we believe. God’s Word is truth.

Faith is the gift of God. Faith is the faith of God’s elect, evidence of electing grace. We are blessed because we believe that the Lord will do what he said. God operates in faith. What God starts, he finishes. Faith is a fruit. Believing is evidence.

While our spirit is lifeless as human beings, our spirit by our own doing cannot be resurrected or regenerated. We cannot do this alone. We need God to change it. If we accept the gift of Jesus dying on the cross, the Holy Spirit will come to live within us. God will resurrect our spirit. The Holy Spirit will dwell within us.

Prayer unlocks the door to life’s mysteries. It can open doors to endless possibilities. Prayer is the key that unlocks faith. Prayer works.

Prior to taking a turnaround road trip with my girls to the beach at Mission Bay in San Diego the other day, when I was asked if I wanted to go I was apprehensive. I started thinking about how it may impact my body given it was a long ride and the fact I had not taken a long road trip in over 15+ years since being diagnosed with Fibromyalgia amongst other things. I began having fears, couldn’t sleep thinking so much about “what if.” What if the pain, irritation, and inflammation became a problem? What if my legs started cramping and hurting given the time I had to sit? What if, what if, what if? Fear began to consume me.

I had to redirect my thoughts and finally said, “I’ll go to God in prayer.” Interesting enough, the next day was the day to go and I woke up with excitement as if nothing had ever crossed my mind, ready to go; with the exception of finding a few things to take with me. My daughter arrived to pick up my other daughter, walks in, and sees me. I’m up in the wee hours of the morning and she says, “You’re going? Good!” I was happy.

Turned out to be a great trip no matter how short it was. And I did well in spite of. It was my first time and I truly enjoyed it. Now I’m anticipating another trip in the future. I’ve talked with them to make plans already. And to think, had I let my fears overcome me, I would not have been able to speak about this today. But instead would have dwelled on regrets out of my staying.

When you travel to other places, you get to see how others live in a different place. Makes you appreciate that much more what you have and learn not to become complacent. When traveling, it takes longer to reach your destination than it does to come back because you don’t know where you’re going. You will go through some things in the midst of the journey. There may be hills, mountains, detours, and change in directions, but eventually you will arrive at your destination.

Much like with God, when you don’t know him. It may take a long time to get on the right path to get where you’re going before you get to know him. You’ll go through some things to get there. There will be valleys to go through, hills to climb, and burdens to bear. But you’re not alone. With God, you’ll get there.

Once you find your way to God it is easy when coming to him, just as it is in finding your way back when you’ve gone away from him. God is always available no matter how long it may take coming or going. Even when you know God and lose your way, it may take long but with faith you will find your way. You’ll go through some things. But eventually you’ll come back to Him again.

Faith is the substance of things we hope for, evidence of things we cannot see. Overcome fear of the unknown. Release it.  God is with you. Come as you are. He is ready to receive you. Don’t let fear overrule your life. Have faith. Allow God to come into your life. Faith is not based on proof. It is belief in what you cannot see that is not proof. It is evidence built upon the foundation of God’s Word. Trust God. Believe in His Word. Let go of fear. God operates in faith.

Don’t let fear immobilize your faith.

Be blessed! -JD

Hebrews 2:1-3 “So we must listen very carefully to the truth we have heard, or we may drift away from it. For the message God delivered through angels has always stood firm, and every violation of the law and every act of disobedience was punished. So what makes us think we can escape if we ignore this great salvation that was first announced by the Lord Jesus himself and then delivered to us by those who heard him speak?”

12 Comments

Filed under My Thoughts, Personal, Poem, Uncategorized

12 responses to “Don’t Let Fear Immobilize Your Faith

  1. Hello-

    I want to thank you for following us and for sharing your insights on this blog. I really dig your posts.

    -Tasha, The Bridge Chicago

    Like

    • Hello!

      I found your blog interesting and when I read the post titled “God Wants You To Help The Poor and Have Fun…Really” by Matt From the Bridge, I was touched by it and moved in such a way that I wanted to explore more of your writing. In order to do that, because I didn’t have time to go through each one individually, I thought I’d follow. I loved it!

      Thanks for the follow as well! I appreciate your comments. Be blessed!

      Like

  2. Nice blog! Thanks for visiting and liking our Faith It post. God bless you! 🙂

    Like

    • Thank you for the beautiful post. Glad I was able you share it. Thanks for visiting and following my blog. Blessings!

      Like

      • God gets the glory for the words in the faith it, till you make it 🙂 I wrote from the heart that morning. I was struggling for no particular reason. I spoke the word to my thoughts, I prayed, I surrendered and still had the blahs, so I was blessed to stumble upon the faith it quote and wrote from there 🙂 praise God that it was more liked than I could possibly have known! Be blessed and enjoy your day!! My signature Ann smile is 😜 because I love The Lord and every area of my life is open to him 😜

        Like

      • To God be the glory. Much of my writing comes from my heart as I oftentimes struggle for no particular reason. But once I share my thoughts after talking with God, I feel better with a sense of relief.

        And to think, you received more likes than you possibly knew, you’re blessed…..That’s what God does 🙂 He will bless the message and the messenger when we least expect it. Praise the Lord.

        Have a glorious and prosper day in the Lord. Thanks.

        Like

      • Thanks!! You too! God bless!! 😜

        Like