Don’t Settle for “Good Enough”… Settle for God’s Best

Social media has become the catalyst upon which some have made the crucial decision to build a foundation in search of fame, fortune, and success. While there are some who use the same platform to honor God in the process.

I often hear about people who have become so addicted to Facebook, Twitter, Google+, Tumblr, and even WordPress, to name a few, that they will start the morning off by reaching for their phones looking to see activity before they even get out of bed. And I must be honest, for the most part, this was me. With the exception I would pray, give thanks, and talk to God before getting out of bed and/or reaching for my phone.

I found myself becoming so consumed with the networks that I felt I couldn’t live without knowing who liked, favorited, responded, retweeted, reblogged, or followed me wherever I existed. It had become a habit that led to a morning ritual. I had to take a step back long before yesterday and examine my motives as to why I’m here, coming to the realization that this is not what God intended nor was it what I intended when first seeking out the platforms I chose to engage in. With the help of God, I decided to change some things.

All was going well until yesterday that struck home, where briefly I was having “a moment” after looking at my visitor views on WordPress and noticed in the past few days how much my numbers had decreased. My first thought was “What’s going on?” I began to question myself asking whether I had done something wrong. Wondering why did it suddenly cease. I even began to question whether I was fulfilling my initial obligation to God, while reasoning why I’m here in the first place; to serve God. I took it even further and called my sister friend seeking advice, to validate my illicit behavior and thought. That ended with an inquiry to the WP forum to see if there was a problem with the stats.

It was not until I woke this morning I felt dimwitted. After prayer and meditation I was convicted in my spirit. I felt I needed to confess to God my guilt. After reading the WP response to my inquiry, to be honest, I felt silly. I had to take a step back. In that moment I had to re-evaluate my behavior and asked God to forgive me in areas where I began to slack. I lost focus on the right things and began to focus on the wrong things.

I said, “God, I know that it is by your doing that I am here wherever I am. I must not allow social media or any other thing take precedence. I’ve been called to serve God’s purpose and share encouraging messages as I work to inspire and motivate. I mustn’t take my eyes off the prize while I wait. It was never my intention to become proud and rely on the response of man to deny glory to you and not fulfill your intended purpose in all I do.”

I talked to Him and said, “I am becoming reckless in certain areas of my life Lord and I need your help.” I told him, even though he already knew, “The last few weeks I was doing well. I had established balance and minimized my activity on all platforms to make sure it did not become a priority over you. Nor did I allow them to take precedence over you. I admit, I need to get in the right standing. I need to refocus my attention and priority. I accept responsibility. I will do my best. I will be consistent. I won’t settle for less.” Thank you, God for listening.

God is truly blessing me. He has given me a new vision for a design project started long ago that marks my new beginning. God has opened doors leading to new possibilities. He’s blessing me with new opportunities. God is guiding me every step of the way. I am thankful to God for imparting wisdom. This is my declaration today. May it inspire, should you find yourself in the same place.

With social media, there will be some people you know. And there will be some you personally don’t know. Don’t let social media become your first priority. Let your words and motives be a reflection of who you are in Christ Jesus. Sow good seeds into the life of others. As a believer, use the platform to rightfully spread God’s message. Give sound, spiritual advice. Don’t get caught up or become addicted to social media as a means to an end, only to live an unfulfilled life. Don’t change your original perspective or intent. If you lose focus, reflect, redirect and come back to it. If necessary, change the climate.

Honor God. Make him your one and only priority. Spend waking moments in meditation, prayer, and worship. Glorify Him. Don’t become consumed with likes, favorites, followers, shares, or views just because. In the end it won’t matter if you’re doing it for yourself and not God.

God desires our complete trust and worship. Surrender your all to Him. Don’t allow any man, woman, or thing to come before Him. Do what pleases him.

Don’t settle for “good enough.” Settle for God’s best. God is not through with you yet.

Be blessed! -JD

1 John 3:21-22 “Dear friends, if we don’t feel guilty, we can come to God with bold confidence. 22 And we will receive from him whatever we ask because we obey him and do the things that please him.” (NLT)

5 Comments

Filed under My Thoughts, Personal, Poem, Uncategorized

5 responses to “Don’t Settle for “Good Enough”… Settle for God’s Best

  1. Thank you for bearing your soul with the truth about yourself. It is not an easy thing to do.

    Like

    • Thank you. I find that when God speaks to me and reveals himself to me of what he desires of me, I must reveal my flaws that I may grow spiritually in wisdom and truth. Transparency is my truth 🙂

      Like

  2. Amen! God bless you and Happy Friday! 😄

    Like