Who is God?

If someone were to ask you “Who is God” what would you tell them who is God?

Here’s what I would say. God is the Creator and Ruler of all things. God is eternal. God is the Supreme Being. God is limitless. He is an infinite being. We can’t limit God by our finite understanding. He is infinite. We may never understand it.

God is omnipotent. He is a strong tower. He has all power (Jeremiah 10:12). God is omniscient. He has infinite knowledge and wisdom (Psalm 147:5). God is omnipresent. His presence is everywhere (Psalm 139:7-12). We can find him when we seek him in the midst of our struggles and when in despair. He is a present help anywhere and everywhere. God is one but exists in three persons; God the Father, God the Son, and God the Holy Spirit. God is spirit.

If someone were to ask you “Why do you love God” what would you say about your love of God? You don’t have to answer right away, but here is what I would say. I love God because he first loved me. He gave his one and only Son Jesus. He sent his only begotten Son to die for me. Jesus died that I may have eternal life. God loves me unconditionally no matter the strife. God is love. I love him because he is God. God loves each and every one of us. “How could you not love God?”

If someone were to ask, “How do you know all these things of a being you cannot see? Is there any evidence you can show me of what you cannot see that I may see?” I believe this answer is easy. By faith, I know and believe in what I cannot see. By faith, I accept that God does exist even though I cannot see. I can sense his presence every day.  I believe, by faith.

Faith is the substance of things hoped for, evidence of things unseen (Heb 11:1). Faith is not based on proof of what we visualize when looking at material things. It is belief in what we cannot see that is not proof. Evidence of God cannot be proven or disproved.  It is our belief in God the Father, God the Son, and God the Holy Spirit that we believe. What more proof do you need?

We may not physically see God, “The heavens declare the glory of God; the skies proclaim the work of His hands. Day after day they pour forth speech; night after night they display knowledge. There is no speech or language where their voice is not heard. Their voice goes out into all the earth, their words to the ends of the world” (Psalm 19:1-4). God is Almighty God.

God is the Creator of the world. He is the giver and sustainer of all life. Without God, we’re nothing. There is no life.

If someone were to ask you about God, what would you say? If someone asked, “Who is God” what would you say? As a believer, I would simply tell them “God is infinite. God exists. Have faith in God’s existence.

Be blessed! –JD

Psalm 139:7-12 “Where shall I go from your Spirit? Or where shall I flee from your presence? 8 If I ascend to heaven, you are there! If I make my bed in Sheol, you are there! 9 If I take the wings of the morning and dwell in the uttermost parts of the sea, 10 even there your hand shall lead me, and your right hand shall hold me. 11 If I say, “Surely the darkness shall cover me, and the light about me be night,” 12 even the darkness is not dark to you; the night is bright as day, for darkness is as light with you.”

Comments Off on Who is God?

Filed under Uncategorized

Comments are closed.