Wheat or Chaff? God Knows Best

Matthew 13I was on my way home leaving my sister’s house yesterday when the bus stopped in the middle of the street for some odd reason and was sitting in the street. Before taking off, I heard this voice that sounded familiar and looked up to see my sister’s friend who is also my friend that we call our sister at my sister’s house urging me to turn back around and come back to the house. Of which I did. Not realizing this particular event would be a time where God would send revelation, affirmation, and out of an unusual circumstance will come confirmation.

My twin sister’s husband passed earlier in the week and I had been visiting with her the past few days. Our sister friend had been over to the house the day before and promised to return the next day with a prepared meal for my sister but I had not seen her while I was there and thought she had changed her mind in coming.

I gathered my things and went back to my sister’s house. We sat and talked about odd things when somehow she began to talk about a vision God gave her regarding a business she foresaw and is currently moving forward with. After hearing her wonderful account of God’s promise for her future, we had a long talk about my current business endeavor.

I expressed to her and her husband my fears and the things that are keeping me bound that I feel is contributing to my inability to be confident God is with me in this journey. She began to pour into my spirit affirmation and confirmation of God’s promises in my life. She gave me so much courage, insight, and inspiration in her provision of the tools I would need to get started and even offered to help me along the journey with no expectations or rewards and expressed she is doing it simply because of her love for God and her desire to glorify God.

Then something struck me. God placed her in my path unsuspectingly because there was something he needed to reveal to me. Something he needed me to know. And by his grace I was in the right place at the right time. For which I am thankful.

You see, after careful reflection, I realized after years of trials, struggles, and tribulations, God had to sit me down alone to get my attention before preparing me for the journey ahead. As well as separate the wheat from chaff in order to do his work. He began separating me from things and people that he felt were no longer required in this season of my life in order that I may effectively serve him and live an abundant life.

I also had to learn in this season that I could no longer live life in the flesh even when warring against the spirit. Something had to die in order that something may live. And it was me. I had to die to my flesh in order that Jesus may live in me. “I have been crucified with Christ and I no longer live, but Christ lives in me” (Gal 2:20). And during this time I found that my relationship with God has changed and I am growing spiritually and closer to Jesus.

Yes, I may have gone through trials and mental anguish and I may have suffered through some things but it was during this time God was taking me through a process. My faith was being tested and through the test I had to make a decision to which direction I would go, either separate myself from the things that would separate me from God or God would separate things from me he knew would separate me from Him in order that I may produce the fruit of righteousness in my life and grow spiritually. Assured nothing and no one will ever separate me from God because I live by the Spirit and the Spirit lives in me. I chose to live God’s way and live life more abundantly.

I also believed God needed me to learn to be patient as I waited on him, not get weary in well-doing and do not give up, for in due season I shall reap a harvest of blessings should I faint not. I began to sit in awe and admiration of God thanking him for all I’ve been through, no matter how long I have been going through. As I began to reflect on the many years I have struggled and fought to maintain, I began to think about how awesome God is. He reigns! I concluded there was a reason God needed me to be in the seasons I found myself in at the times I found myself in because it was necessary. It was all for his glory.

We all will go through a season in life that will bring insurmountable challenges we may never understand. Yet hold on to God’s unchanging hands. Trials strengthen you. Tests refine you. Patience is a virtue. When your faith is tested God’s refining you. He’s perfecting the spiritual gifts in you. Trials and tests are meant to challenge your faith. Be encouraged! Challenges are meant to help you grow while you wait. Don’t give up. Wait on the Lord. Have faith. Wait I say, on the Lord.”

Next month will be the beginning of a new season in my life and I am looking forward to what God has in store for me. I love the Lord so much and in all I do I will give him glory! I’m claiming it. I’m naming it! I’m speaking it into existence. God said it. I believe it. That settles it! Thanks for listening.

Be blessed! -JD

Matthew 13:24-3024 Jesus told them another parable: “The kingdom of heaven is like a man who sowed good seed in his field. 25 But while everyone was sleeping, his enemy came and sowed weeds among the wheat, and went away. 26 When the wheat sprouted and formed heads, then the weeds also appeared. 27 “The owner’s servants came to him and said, ‘Sir, didn’t you sow good seed in your field? Where then did the weeds come from?’ 28 “‘An enemy did this,’ he replied. “The servants asked him, ‘Do you want us to go and pull them up?’ 29 “‘No,’ he answered, ‘because while you are pulling the weeds, you may uproot the wheat with them. 30 Let both grow together until the harvest. At that time I will tell the harvesters: First collect the weeds and tie them in bundles to be burned; then gather the wheat and bring it into my barn.’” (NIV)

Comments Off on Wheat or Chaff? God Knows Best

Filed under My Thoughts, Personal, Uncategorized

Comments are closed.