Jesus Calls Us to Love One Another

wpid-img_20140523_172104.jpgJesus calls us to love one another. Even ones who are unlovely. Jesus loved the unloved and unlovely. Love others as God loves us.

“Dear friends, let us love one another, for love comes from God. Everyone who loves has been born of God and knows God. Whoever does not love does not know God, because God is love. This is how God showed his love among us: He sent his one and only Son into the world that we might live through him. This is love: not that we loved God, but that he loved us and sent his Son as an atoning sacrifice for our sins. Dear friends, since God so loved us, we also ought to love one another. No one has ever seen God; but if we love one another, God lives in us and his love is made complete in us” (1 John 4:7-12).

God you first loved me when I didn’t know how to love myself. You forgave me at times when I couldn’t forgive myself. You chose me. Thank you Jesus. When I found myself drowning in the sea of life You saved a wretch like me. Amazing grace! Thank you for loving me when I wasn’t lovely.  Thank you Jesus!

No matter how great your sin, God’s steadfast love and mercy are greater. His compassion never fails. He promises forgiveness. That’s love! Nobody greater.

The human mind cannot conceive the capacity of the greatness of God. His greatness is beyond infinity. God is beyond infinity. He does exist. God is love.

Be loving even when someone is unkind. Bless the ungodly when you’re hated and despised. Be a beacon of hope. Let your light shine!

Jesus commands us to love. Love with the love of God. Follow God’s example. Love as God loves.

Be blessed! -JD

1 John 2:5-6And now I ask you, dear lady—not as though I were writing you a new commandment, but the one we have had from the beginning—that we love one another. And this is love, that we walk according to his commandments; this is the commandment, just as you have heard from the beginning, so that you should walk in it. (NIV)

2 Comments

Filed under My Thoughts, Poem, Uncategorized

2 responses to “Jesus Calls Us to Love One Another

  1. God is the creator of all things. The reason behind our creation … is love. “I loved thy creation hence I created thee. Wherefore, do thou love Me, that I may name thy name and fill thy soul with the spirit of life.”

    Like