We Know Why the Caged Bird Sings – Dr. Maya Angelou, You Now Have Your Wings!

“Each time a woman stands up for herself, without knowing it possibly, without claiming it, she stands up for all women.” -Dr. Maya Angelou

I am saddened yet I rejoice today. Heaven gained a beautiful angel today. Renowned author, poet, and civil rights activist Dr. Maya Angelou took her rightful place in heaven today.

Dr. Angelou was not only a great voice to contemporary literature, but she was a voice of distinction to many. She touched the lives of many.

Her speech was with grace and eloquence. Her words were like a breath of fresh air to a troubled ear that would hear and listen. She spoke of struggles we could all identify with and knew in some way we too, could overcome them.

She was trailblazer; a survivor. She set the path to know how we could live life with meaning. She taught us through her writings, in the face of adversity or hatred, like the air, we can rise above it and still respect ourselves. Life had new meaning. In spite of barriers, celebrate who we are no matter what. She had a distinctive name that clearly set her apart. Her contribution will live on forever. She will always live in our hearts.

Ms. Maya, you leave behind a great legacy. You always will be remembered. We will miss you dear one. You may be gone but never forgotten. We will cherish your memory.

We know “Why the Caged Bird Sings.” Dr. Maya Angelou is now resting in heaven. Rest in paradise love. You now have your wings!

I leave you with this. Here are  some of her greatest quotes. I hope you enjoy it.

Quotes from Dr. Maya Angelou:

“There is no greater agony than bearing an untold story inside you.”

“You may shoot me with your words, you may cut me with your eyes, you may kill me with your hatefulness, but still, like air, I’ll rise!”

“Do the best you can until you know better. Then when you know better, do better.”

“I’ve learned that people will forget what you said, people will forget what you did, but people will never forget how you made them feel.”

“My mission in life is not merely to survive, but to thrive; and to do so with some passion, some compassion, some humor and some style.”

“In the flush of love’s light we dare be brave and suddenly we see that love costs all we are and will ever be. Yet, it is only love which sets us free.”

– Dr. Maya Angelou

Be blessed! -JD

8 Comments

Filed under My Thoughts, Poem, Uncategorized

8 responses to “We Know Why the Caged Bird Sings – Dr. Maya Angelou, You Now Have Your Wings!

  1. I was fortunate to meet and spend several hours with Dr. Angelou. She talked to me like my grandmother and treated everyone around her with respect. I always remember the quote she shared with me “Do the best you can until you know better. Then when you know better, do better.” She has touched many hearts and lives and we celebrate her life.

    Like

    • Wow. What an honor and a privilege for you to have met Dr. Maya Angelo; a living legacy. Such a blessing. Words cannot express how overjoyed I am for you and the monumental experience. She was and always will be remembered as an amazing inspiration who truly touched many lives. Thank you for sharing. God bless. 🙂

      Like

  2. Pingback: We Know Why the Caged Bird Sings – Dr. Maya Angelou, You Now Have Your Wings! | LATANYA DAVIS

  3. Pingback: We Know Why the Caged Bird Sings – Dr. Maya Angelou, You Now Have Your Wings! | LATANYA DAVIS

    • Thank you for the pingback. I truly appreciate it.

      I thought you may want to know that something may be wrong with your Memoir Notes link because when I clicked on it, it takes me to the page but says, “Error 404 Page Not Found.” Thanks. Blessings!

      Like

  4. Hi Joy. Thank you for this wonderful post on Maya Angelou. I wanted to write something about Dr. Angelou today because she had such a huge impact on my life (still does), but my emotions are just all over the place. She was a survivor that taught us not to let our voices be silenced–a truly phenomenal woman that, like you said, “left behind a great legacy” and will “always be remembered.” Re-blogging your post. God bless you.

    Like

    • Hi LaTanya! You’re welcome. Thank you so much for your beautiful comment. I was a mess today and couldn’t get my thoughts together when learning of her passing via a mention from oomf. My mind was racing, emotions all over the place but something in my spirit would not rest. I felt I had to say something about this phenomenal woman. So I had to pull myself together and this is what I managed to come up.

      Thank you so much for reblogging my post. I truly appreciate it. God bless you!

      Like