Fiery Trials will Come. Rejoice! The Greater the Struggle, the Greater the Reward

wpid-img_20141021_132654.jpg

Oftentimes it is not until we hear of someone else problems or realize the depth of another person’s struggle that we are grateful to God for his many blessings bestowed upon us.

When looking over our own lives, we start counting our blessings, thanking God for grace and mercy even though we didn’t deserve it.

We are thankful. We say, “I woke up in my right mind. All my needs have been met. I may not have all I desire but I have all I need. There is no lack. I may be sick but not terminally ill. I may be in a place of waiting right now with some struggles but I am healed. Bills have been paid. Debts have been cancelled. The weight of the world is no longer on my shoulders. I may have problems but my thoughts are in the right perspective.”

For the past few weeks I have not been feeling well and have been in somewhat of a slumber with a lack of energy, motivation, or enough strength to get out of bed and do things my heart so desire. The past year has brought about some insurmountable challenges and major decisions that also contributed to my lacking the ability to finish projects that have been in the works for years. It rendered me helpless and a bit hopeless.

However, at times I find that no matter how often I may feel like Job, Jeremiah, and the Apostle Paul all wrapped in one being of myself when going through fiery trials. Failing to understand why I’m still here, I am assured God is with me. I begin to think about all God has done for me and thank him not only for what I have but what I don’t have. Thankful to God for saving me from things I thought were necessary for my success. Later realizing God saved me from things that were not for my good. He is my refuge.

While I may not be in the best of health to do what I used to be able to do, I have more than enough strength through God. I don’t allow trivial matters to stop my giving glory to God. I press towards the mark.

For the first time in over a year, I managed to reintroduce myself to my book and am trying to recapture my story. I’ve been recording my thoughts to later put on paper, reading over my book, taking notes, and making some edits. I may have had writers block for a long time but so grateful I’m now in a better place to start again, at least collect my thoughts, and pick up where I left off.

I pulled out and updated my vision board the other day. God will have his way. While many things have not yet come to pass, I’m believing God for a miracle. And to make matters even better, after watching Steve Harvey’s “Act Like a Success, Think Like a Success” on Uptv the other day, I paid close attention to the lessons he noted: “Lesson #1: You Must Have a Dream and Vision. Lesson #2: You must identify your gift. Lesson #3: You Must Be Willing to Jump. Take a leap of faith. Lesson #4: Surround yourself with the right people. Lesson #5: Don’t be afraid to reinvent yourself.”

I said to myself, OK. I have 1, 4, and 5 down pat. Still working on 2 and 3. In the meantime, I began talking to the tv and made declarations, “I’m going to #ActLikeASuccess, I will #ThinkLikeASuccess and I will be one! I am not afraid to reinvent myself. I began to toss around some ideas in my head about my business. I started talking out loud to myself. Speaking victory, envisioning what I could do to make my dreams become a reality. Believing the best is yet to come for me.

Oftentimes God will take us through a fiery trial, if need be to break the spirit. That we may willingly yield to the power of Holy Spirit. God can move mountains. I know. Because he said so. No matter how big the problem, say to this mountain, “Move” and it will move. God promised he will do it for you. God is a promise keeper. Take him at his word. He’ll never leave you or forsake you. He’s always with you. He will do what he promised.

None of us are strangers to fear. When troubled on every side, God’s grace is sufficient. Fear not. Have faith. His strength is made perfect in weakness. Sometimes you have to think yourself beyond what your mind says you aren’t; and believe that you are. God says you’re more than a conqueror.

Fiery trials will come. Rejoice! The greater the struggle, the greater the reward.

Be blessed! –JD

 1 Peter 4:12-13 “Beloved, do not be surprised at the fiery trial when it comes upon you to test you, as though something strange were happening to you. 13 But rejoice insofar as you share Christ’s sufferings, that you may also rejoice and be glad when his glory is revealed. (ESV)

Comments Off on Fiery Trials will Come. Rejoice! The Greater the Struggle, the Greater the Reward

Filed under My Thoughts, Personal, Poem

Comments are closed.