I Finally Found the Secret to Joy – My Joy Comes From the Lord!

wpid-img_20141122_192000.jpgHappiness is based on external situations or circumstances. It’s temporary. Joy is internal and deeply rooted. It is based on God’s presence within us. It is lasting.

When the enemy comes to kill, steal, and destroy, reverse the curse! Don’t let him take your joy. Tell him he can’t have it. God gave it to you. Tell him find someone else to pick on!

Oftentimes the secret to joy can be found easily. It’s when we allow circumstances or people influence our thoughts that makes it difficult, causing us to believe we can never be happy. Live and let live. That’s what I always say. Because when others are miserable or unhappy, they seek to make you feel the same miserable way. Understand God has a future for you. Find joy. Don’t let the negative opinions of others steal your joy.

There are times we will go through what seems unbearable and feel our situation is much worse than others. And believe they don’t understand none of what we’re facing. We will say, “But you don’t know what I’ve been through.” If you took a moment and really thought about it, imagine what some in the Bible went through. You will find it was much worse than what you could ever go through.

In Galatians 6:17 Paul tells us, “Finally, let no one cause me trouble, for I bear on my body the marks of Jesus.” Paul suffered, went through worse, and was covered in scars. He was beaten, robbed, betrayed, and mocked by most of the world. Yet, he still rejoiced in the Lord. Paul had a cause for joy. He had been counted worthy to suffer for Christ. How about you? Can you rejoice no matter what the enemy may do to hurt, harm, or destroy you?

Jesus was crucified. He was mocked too. He was forced to wear a crown of thorns and bled from the thorns he wore on his head. That didn’t stop him from fulfilling the purpose God intended. In fact, the crown of thorns worked opposite of the mockery the Roman soldiers intended. It was a great symbol of who Jesus is and what he came to accomplish.

He was nailed to the cross and died for us. He died for our sake. If Christ could die on the cross and take the punishment we deserved, why can’t we, just as Paul, suffer for His sake? If Jesus had no problem sacrificing his life for our sins, why can’t we sacrifice our selfish desires for him and rejoice when we suffer?

As for me, I finally found the secret to joy. It’s not based on what I have, my circumstances, or what I’ve managed to overcome because of what I’ve been through. My joy comes from the Lord. I’ve learned no matter what circumstance I face, I will rejoice in the Lord. In spite of my troubles, I give glory to God for all that I have been through. God will get the glory. Because had it not been for my troubles, I would have no reason to praise him.

Every day I count my blessings, one by one. I thank God for all he’s done. This journey I’ve traveled may not have been the best at times, especially when I wanted to give up. I may have cried for a little while, but when I look back over my life I am amazed God brought me this far. I have no regrets. I am thankful for each trial, tribulation and setback. Because it was a setback for my comeback.

Don’t let circumstances or people define you. Let your heart be glad. Feel joy. God gave it to you. When you have the presence of God within you, you have found the secret to joy. Praise God in advance for all the things he is going to do, will do, and has done.

Praise him for the things he didn’t do. He knew what was best for you. In spite of your deepest troubles, know that you can feel joy. Don’t look to the right or to the left. Look to God. Count it all joy!

Make a declaration today, “I’ve found the secret to joy!” God’s presence is within me. My hope is in the Lord. I will be content. My tongue will rejoice. Be blessed! -JD

Psalm 16:9-11 “Therefore my heart is glad and my tongue rejoices; my body also will rest secure, 10 because you will not abandon me to the grave, nor will you let your Holy One see decay. 11 You have made known to me the path of life, you will fill me with joy in your presence, with eternal pleasures at your right hand.” (NIV)

Comments Off on I Finally Found the Secret to Joy – My Joy Comes From the Lord!

Filed under My Thoughts, Poem

Comments are closed.