Until You Walk in My Shoes You Probably Can’t Fit, Don’t Judge Me. One Day You May Have To Walk in My Shoes and Travel the Same Journey

wpid-img_20150106_203649.jpg

People can be all for you and will walk with you until you break the heel of your shoes. They will scatter, nowhere to be found, only to abandon you. You will find yourself trying to repair what’s broken, alone. The journey may seem hard and the road you travel will be long.

You will lose some things along the way. People will gossip behind your back. You will find out who your real friends are and know for sure who don’t have your back. In the journey, one thing for sure you will come to understand, just how faithful God is. Until you walk in someone else shoes, you may never understand their journey. Never judge a person. One day you may have to walk in their shoes and travel that same journey.

As I sat in pure silence the other day, I began to think about many things but what disturbed me most is how I can minister to, support, and celebrate others yet cannot minister to myself when others fail me. And begin to doubt myself when they disappoint me. This is an area I deeply struggle with. I keep praying and asking God for help, seeking deliverance. Yet, no matter how hard I try to look away and ignore things I see around me that are not what I desire them to be, at times it can be difficult to appreciate the things I’ve accomplished without feeling guilty. I feel I’ve not done enough. I fail to celebrate my own accomplishments when I feel stuck.

I’ve accomplished many things in my life that I am proud of. Some goals I set for myself have been met years ago. Without God, it would not have been possible. However at times, I find it difficult to see what good it has done because I’m still waiting for something to happen. Just when I think I am on the right track, something happens and set me back. Only to have to start all over again. But with God, I still manage to make it look good on me from start to end.

I dress well. I look the part. I don’t look like what I’ve been through. No one knows what’s going on deep inside my heart. Yes, at times I find myself hurt, disappointed, discouraged, and confused. With God, I cannot lose. I refuse to let it hinder me. I keep trusting God in spite of adversity. I am believing he will see me through no matter what people may do to me.

When I allow negative thoughts to enter my mind, I become angry, confused as tears begin to fall from my eyes. Like water flowing from an imaginary faucet that don’t seem real. I tell myself, I may be distraught but I refuse to become desperate. Yet I begin to question myself asking God, “Am I doing something wrong? Is it something I’m failing to see?” I have my moments. I begin to doubt his ability. I ask him, “Why does it seem everyone around me is growing but me”? But in a split second I realize, it’s not them. It’s me. When I look over my life and see how far God has brought me, I have grown and still am growing.

I may miss the mark and not understand all that God does because it’s not for me to understand all he does. But what I do know, wherever God takes me, is the place I need to grow to do what he has called me to do. That I may bring forth what he has already planned for me. He has me right in the place he needs me to be.

Immediate circumstances will change what you believe, if you let it. No matter what you face, don’t let it. I cannot be paralyzed by fear. I’ve learned to accept failure as a blessing. No one can stop me from believing God’s plan for my life. God has birthed a vision in me and I have faith it will manifest in the natural.

It is not enough to be in the right place, you have to be there at the right time. God is always on time. When God wants to take you to a different level, let him. But he can’t do it when you continue to stay in your comfort level. God conceived a vision in you. He want to give birth to the vision he conceived in you. He wants to take you from Egypt to the “promised land”. Get up! Say to yourself, “Every day I will do something”. To propel me to reach my destiny. What God has for me is for me.

Understand this, whatever God does in your life is to get you in the right place at the right time for His Will to be done. Don’t let your circumstances cause you to miss your blessings. When you know God’s Word is true, in the face of anything, stand on it, believe in all things, and not fall for anything. Have an attitude of gratitude. Don’t curse your situation. Nobody can stop you from fulfilling God’s plan for your life. Trust Him. God gave YOU a vision.

Know that you’re not done until the vision is completed. God will complete it! Learn to accept failure as a blessing. And if that don’t work, look to the word of God. “Being confident of this, that he who began a good work in you will carry it on to completion until the day of Christ Jesus.” (Philippians 1:6)

We can never imagine all that God has in store for us. Move from complaining to worshiping and praising Him. “No eye has seen, no ear has heard, no mind has conceived what God has prepared for those who love him” – but God has revealed it to us by his spirit. (1 Cor 1:9-10) Don’t be afraid to endure hardship. Be hopeful. Have courage to press on. This world is not all there is. The best is yet to come.

God gave you a vision. Believe it or not, you’re pregnant with possibilities. There will be birthing pains before delivery. Reflect not on what you don’t have but what God has done for you. The righteous shall live by his faith. You will birth the vision. God will deliver in his timing!

No matter what we may go through or what people do to us, it is God who celebrates, elevates, and sustains us. Rejoice! God is our keeper.

Be blessed! –JD

Habakkuk 2:2 “And the Lord answered me: “Write the vision; make it plain on tablets, so he may run who reads it.”

2 Comments

Filed under My Thoughts, Personal, Poem, Uncategorized

2 responses to “Until You Walk in My Shoes You Probably Can’t Fit, Don’t Judge Me. One Day You May Have To Walk in My Shoes and Travel the Same Journey

  1. “Know that you’re not done until the vision is completed. God will complete it! Learn to accept failure. ” Joaynn, what may be failure to you is only a hurdle to God. He may wish to redirect you, or may be completing a process that you were unaware of.
    Our reliance on God includes times of uncertainty; that is where faith and trust abound.
    I don’t think we will be complete or perfected until we see Him face to face – perhaps not even then. The sooner we are willing to hand over the steering wheel from the passenger seat, the sooner we can enjoy the ride! 🙂

    Like