Ignorance is Bliss But Can Also Be Infectious. Speak In Love. Positivity Can Be Contagious

Triumph Over IgnoranceWhoever says ignorance is bliss should also add it can be infectious. Sometimes, silence in response to ignorance is counterproductive. Toxic people will contaminate your immune system and spread germs of hatred, discouragement, and negativity. Decontaminate infected minds with words of godly wisdom and positivity. Knowing when to speak in love can be contagious. Your words of wisdom will triumph over ignorance.

I am a realist. I don’t pretend when the truth needs to be told. Nor do I sugarcoat things to get the approval of others. When I speak the truth, oftentimes my mouth gets me in trouble. Not because I say the wrong things or am insensitive to the feelings of others. But because I can’t sit idly by and watch people wallow in denial of their own truth only to justify their behavior. I believe we all should strive daily to grow and do better.

Sometimes I try to share positive, encouraging words of wisdom when I encounter someone who constantly have nothing nice to say. But occasionally the words may not come out the right way. When I become aware of what I am doing, I take a moment to sit in silence and think about what I will say.  I will share my thoughts and do my best not to offend anyone intentionally.

I try to say things in the right way to help and not condemn others. I mean well. My desire is that you become aware of and not ignore your lack of knowledge as a means to justify your wrongdoings. I only want to help bring awareness to what you say and do to acknowledge how it affects others, in the hopes it will guide your decisions.

We are all God’s children. He loves each of us the same. Just as God does not find fault in us, neither should we find fault in others. Negativity breeds negativity. Ignorance breeds contempt. The less you know about someone doesn’t give you a license to pass judgment on them. In my opinion, I believe it can be a great opportunity to get to know them better. When you know better, you do better.

Ignorance is bliss if you’re happy not knowing the truth. Knowingly not doing the right thing is not an excuse. When you know God’s Word, you have knowledge of what God commands. Have common sense. You mustn’t waver in your obedience to him. When you treat God’s Word as if it were human advice is like ignoring who God is. That’s not a good way to live. Respect for God begins with wisdom (James 1:5).

When you choose to follow your own direction instead of God’s, you’re saying to him, I would rather not listen to what you say and choose to ignore right from wrong. I want to keep doing what I know is not right even when it’s wrong.

Be careful when offending God out of your own ignorance. If you humbly submit yourself and ask Him for help, he will generously give you guidance. “The fear of the Lord is the beginning of wisdom, and the knowledge of the Holy One is insight” (Proverbs 9:10). Have godly wisdom. Do what’s right. Fear the Lord. Make a choice to think positively, not to tear down but encourage others.

Think before you speak. Consider the impact of your words before spreading negativity. When you don’t understand why people do what they do or choose to criticize them, it’s not fair. God’s wisdom goes beyond common sense. He will give you wisdom. Trust him.

Knowledge is power. Take time to learn. Ask God for wisdom to guide your choices. Then use what you know to do better, be better, and grow. When you know the difference between right and wrong, choose to do right. God will be pleased.

Be blessed! –JD

James 1:5, 6 “If any of you lacks wisdom, he should ask God, who gives generously to all without finding fault, and it will be given to him. 6 But when he asks, he must believe and not doubt, because he who doubts is like a wave of the seas, blown and tossed by the wind.” (NIV)

6 Comments

Filed under My Thoughts, Poem

6 responses to “Ignorance is Bliss But Can Also Be Infectious. Speak In Love. Positivity Can Be Contagious