Today is Fibromyalgia Awareness Day. Take Back Your Voice. Make the Invisible Disability Visible. Wear Purple!

Fibromyalgia Friends Pain WarriorsI’m wearing purple in honor of Fibromyalgia Awareness Day. I am a pain warrior. I’m taking back my voice to raise awareness.

I have a condition but my condition doesn’t have me. I may have been diagnosed with a disease but this disease does not define me.

I may suffer with symptoms of fatigue, chronic pain, insomnia, muscle spasms, loss of concentration, and memory loss to name a few. But you wouldn’t know it when you see me. When you say, “But you don’t look sick” you’re right I don’t. But I am sick. I don’t need to look like it for you to know.

I dress well. I play the part. I don’t look like what I’ve been through. No one can see on the outside the pain I go through. I may be discouraged at times because of a lack of acceptance, support, and belief from doctors, family, and friends. But I don’t let it stop me. I am destined for greatness. This condition will not make or break me.

For every person who suffers with fibromyalgia and chronic pain, I salute you today. Know that you are not alone. We are in this fight together. Be strong. Don’t let the negativity or disbelief of others define you or make you feel ashamed because you know you are sick. As long as you know how you feel, you don’t need to look like it.

Some may never understand your struggle. They don’t need to. Persevere. You are beautiful. No matter how much pain you’re in, do your best to live your best life. You are more than a conqueror.

Today is Fibromyalgia Awareness Day. Join me. You have a voice. Let’s make the invisible disability visible. Take back your voice. Raise awareness to help others better understand this condition. We’re hoping for a cure. When we all join forces, together, we can make a difference.

To My Fellow Fibromyalgia Friends, Chronic Pain Warriors, and Love Ones: Here’s to more pain-free days filled with laughter, joy, and praise! Proudly Wear Purple!

Find an event or call a pain warrior you may know and share your love and support. Or just wear purple.

Be blessed! –JD

Comments Off on Today is Fibromyalgia Awareness Day. Take Back Your Voice. Make the Invisible Disability Visible. Wear Purple!

Filed under My Thoughts, Personal, Poem, Uncategorized

Comments are closed.