God Knew We Would Need Strength to Endure and Made Us As Strong As We Are Because He Knew What It Would Take to Be a Mother

A Mother's JobWith all that is going on in this world today, I find that there are never too many times I can speak on the plight of mothers who are silently suffering when faced with adversity and situations not in their control when dealing with conflict between themselves and their children.

Not to add, this was not the first time I heard the story of a mother hurting but in the past weeks, I have seen and heard similar stories I tried to ignore reacting to. And even though at times I can sense people may tire of me speaking about it, I won’t apologize for it. I am a mother and because my heart goes out to them, I feel compelled to be one voice and say something in their defense.

Yesterday I heard yet another sad story of a mother who was distraught almost to the point of tears because of a situation that occurred between her and her children that seemed to have hurt her to the core of her heart. My heart broke. It immediately touched my heart. I sent up a prayer and tried not to think about it. I wrestled with it all day. I couldn’t get it out of mind nor could I sleep. Sat down, got my thoughts together and the words flowed effortlessly. This is what I managed to come up with.

It saddens me and breaks my heart when I hear stories of children who disrespect, verbally, mentally, physically, and emotionally abuse, curse and have no love or respect for their mothers. And believe it’s okay to do so because they feel they are entitled.

A mother’s job is the most underappreciated, underpaid, misunderstood profession. We are full-time employees with duties that last a lifetime. We don’t get a vacation. Motherhood doesn’t start and end the day we give birth. It is a lifetime commitment even when our children are no longer with us. No matter what our children may have done or how young or old they are, we will nurture, guide, advise, comfort, strengthen, forgive, and pray for them. We will put our lives on the line for them. It is our prayers and the prayers of those whose shoulders we stand on that came before us that keeps them. Cherish your Mother. Be grateful.

Yes, we make mistakes because we are human but we don’t use that as an excuse. Many of us do our best to admit our faults, forgive ourselves, and forgive the children who hurt us too. We will never stop loving them no matter what they may do to us. We will never stop being a mother no matter if or when they choose to stop being our children. Yes, they may not have asked to come here, but mothers didn’t ask to raise children who grow up disrespecting and abusing them. Don’t forget who is in charge; God. He will fight our battles.

There are two sides to every story. Choose one. But don’t let it be for your glory. Let God’s will, not your will be done. Mothers are one of God’s greatest gifts on this earth. Be careful how you treat her. You may think life is grand because she’s still here and you think there will always be time to talk to her. But one day God will want her back and she will no longer be available. You will never get the chance to say the things you didn’t say because she will no longer be available. You will never, ever get to see her again.

Let her smell her flowers now and not when it’s too late after she’s gone. Cherish your Mother while you can. She will not be here for long. When God comes for her, she’s not coming back to your home. She will be gone on to glory, residing in her new home.

God knew we would need strength to endure and made us as strong as we are because he knew what it would take to be a mother. God I thank you for blessing me to be a mother. I pray God heals and delivers every family that is going through something. I hope something changes one day soon with how children treat their mothers. I pray the sad, disheartening stories minimize or stop breaking my heart. My prayers are with each and every one of us.

I Love My Mother!

Be blessed! –JD

Ephesians 6:2, 3 “Honor your father and mother” (this is the first commandment with a promise), “that it may go well with you and that you may live long in the land.” (NIV)

Comments Off on God Knew We Would Need Strength to Endure and Made Us As Strong As We Are Because He Knew What It Would Take to Be a Mother

Filed under My Thoughts, Personal, Poem, Uncategorized

Comments are closed.