September Pain Awareness Month has arrived! Be a Voice. Get Involved. Make a Difference!

Fibromyalgia Friends Chronic Pain Warriors-.pngIn case you don’t already know, September is Pain Awareness Month. Join me for the next 30 days and show your support. Wear or do something PURPLE. Be a voice. Get involved. Make a difference.

Through the month of September many across the nation are joining in to help raise awareness for the need of effective pain treatment and pain management for millions of Americans around the world who suffer with pain.

As a behind the scene pain advocate and one who is truly passionate about the cause, I try my best to do what I can when I can to make a difference. Before I was diagnosed with Fibromyalgia and a host of other conditions that cause me to suffer daily with chronic pain, I could not imagine what it would be like to be in pain indefinitely. Or knew of anyone who experienced what I find myself experiencing every day for over the past 14 years. Even so, I cannot imagine one individual that does not know someone who suffers with pain.

What I have learned throughout this pain journey, it does not discriminate. It can affect anyone at any given time without any warning. You never know when it can happen to you. And sadly, I find it is not until someone experiences pain at a level beyond comprehension that will last past infinity, they may never understand the significance of the need for effective treatment and care. It is my hope one day, new treatment and new research develops that will help other American pain sufferers find some form of normalcy and have a better quality of life as a result of their findings.

There are a number of ways you can get involved. It can be something as simple as calling a friend or love one you know who suffers with pain and letting them know they can count on you for support just by checking on them from time to time. Love and compassion can go a long way. Let them know you love them and are there for them.

Lastly, find an organization that offer information and resources to consider during the month of September. You can visit various pain organization websites like U.S. Pain Foundation, National Fibromyalgia & Chronic Pain Association (NFMCPA), or Power of Pain to get involved with planned events and activities. And by all means don’t just get involved during the month of September but show your support throughout the year. You don’t know how much your support, no matter how big or small, can change a life.

As for me, I may have Fibromyalgia and suffer in silence with chronic pain every day but you wouldn’t know it when you see me. When you say, “But you don’t look sick” you’re right I don’t. But I am sick. I don’t need to look like it for you to know.

I am a chronic pain warrior. I’m a victor and not a victim. I’m taking back my voice to raise awareness. I have a condition but my condition doesn’t have me. I may have been diagnosed with a disease but this disease does not define me. I may suffer with symptoms of fatigue, chronic pain, insomnia, muscle spasms, loss of concentration, and memory loss to name a few. Make a declaration today,

To My Fellow Fibromyalgia Friends, Chronic Pain Warriors, and Love Ones: Here’s to more pain-free days filled with laughter, joy, and praise! Proudly Wear Purple!

Be blessed! – JD

2 Comments

Filed under My Thoughts, Personal, Uncategorized

2 responses to “September Pain Awareness Month has arrived! Be a Voice. Get Involved. Make a Difference!

  1. Joining you in sharing this Awareness Month.

    Like