Today is Worldwide Suicide Prevention Day

Psalm 143_Today is World Suicide Prevention Day to raise awareness and provide worldwide commitment and action to prevent suicide. Join in and support this delicate cause by reaching out, make a telephone call, and talking with someone who may need your help.

For more information on how you can help someone who may be suicidal on social media, please visit the National Suicide Prevention Lifeline at http://www.suicidepreventionlifeline.org/GetHelp/Online or call 1-800-273-TALK (8255).

To know the signs, please take a moment to view this video “Why” by Rascal Flatts. It may help save a life.

And lastly, these words I share are from my heart. I know what it is like to be depressed and distraught. At times, we may find ourselves feeling just as you do. Please accept this as my token of love, compassion, and care for you. You may be going through a difficult time and feel as though no one is there for you. And while I may not be there physically to reach out or talk to you, this post will serve as my way to reach out and encourage you. Know that God cares for you. Whatever may be troubling you, know that God is with you. Don’t lose hope. God will help you pull your way out. Don’t fear. He will release your doubts. God is faithful and forgiving. He will forgive you. If your heart leads you, reach out to him. Express your true feelings. Be assured God will see you through. God loves you. I do too.

As a token of my love for you, I share this psalm of David prayer with you. I pray it will bless you. Please know the world is here is for you. All over the world we are praying for you. My hope is when you feel you cannot make it and feel no one is there, remember there is someone out there like me who cares. When you are lost and can’t find your way, I pray someone will reach out to call and talk to you on that day or any day.  If you are willing, please take this prayer with you. This is my prayer for you.

Be blessed! -JD

A psalm of David

Psalm 143:1-12 Lord, hear my prayer, listen to my cry for mercy; in your faithfulness and righteousness come to my relief. Do not bring your servant into judgment, for no one living is righteous before you. The enemy pursues me, he crushes me to the ground; he makes me dwell in the darkness like those long dead. So my spirit grows faint within me; my heart within me is dismayed. I remember the days of long ago; I meditate on all your works and consider what your hands have done. I spread out my hands to you; I thirst for you like a parched land. Answer me quickly, Lord; my spirit fails. Do not hide your face from me or I will be like those who go down to the pit. Let the morning bring me word of your unfailing love, for I have put my trust in you. Show me the way I should go, for to you I entrust my life. Rescue me from my enemies, Lord, for I hide myself in you. 10 Teach me to do your will, for you are my God; may your good Spirit lead me on level ground. 11 For your name’s sake, Lord, preserve my life; in your righteousness, bring me out of trouble. 12 In your unfailing love, silence my enemies; destroy all my foes, for I am your servant.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Today is Worldwide Suicide Prevention Day

  1. Thank you for sharing your support about the importance of preventing suicides. If I was successful at my suicide attempt 26 years ago, I would not be here today responding to your blog. Back then, I was a teenager, pregnant, scared, and with no resources. But God provided ALL the resources I needed back then, presently, and in the days ahead. I just thank God everyday that I am still here making a difference in others lives.

    Like

    • You’re welcome! Thank God you are here to share your testimony and show the goodness of God. I thank God for you my friend and that he allowed you to be here to make a difference in the lives of others as well as myself. Blessings!

      Like