Love Hurts

Love HurtsI’m sharing a poem titled Love Hurts from my “mini-series” of poems I promised in between normal posts that was written during my college years. And based on the expression of words that filled my thoughts, it looks like it was during a time I was broken and going through some type of pain or heartbreak.

Surprisingly, I actually loved the professor’s critique on this one but wasn’t sure at the time what he meant by his question at the end given I wasn’t a poetry writer or so I thought. 🙂 He wrote: “I sense the honesty and passion here. Good end-rhyme. How about some images?” Me: Hmm… One day I’ll get that.

Enjoy!

Love Hurts

I met a person
Who said to me
My love for you
Will last infinitely

He came and took
My love from me
And now he wants
To set me free
He met another woman
Who was to be
His one and only
Till eternity

I stayed up all night
Wondering and crying
Was it not that
I was trying
Hard enough to do
All of the things he wanted me to

As I try to forget
And hide my pain
It only reminds me
Of how I’ll hurt again
So as you can see
I’m not the same anymore
Because of a man
I truly adored

-JD

Comments Off on Love Hurts

Filed under My Thoughts, Personal, Poem, Uncategorized

Comments are closed.